The Peace of the Season


Can finally begin!

I’m tellin’ ya if I had to do that stretch between a week before Thanksgiving and the Day After Christmas more than once a year I’d go out of my little freakin’ mind!!! Don’t get me wrong, I adore my family and I do have great affection for that time of year but it’s exhausting. Maybe if you’re rich it’s a little easier but I’ll never know. All I do know is I can hardly move. My back hurts, my hips are killing me, my brain won’t shut off at night I can’t sleep I just lay there counting cookies. Not the ‘sugar plums dancing in their heads’ kind either; filled cookies, chocolate chip cookies, hello dolly bars, snicker doodles…are there enough? I don’t know. Is 20+ dozen cookies ‘enough’ for 5-8 people? You tell me. :) I almost didn’t make the filled cookies this year and that would have been a shame. They’re a definite Darling Family Tradition and since I’m pretty much the last Darling on this side of the family it all falls to me. Those cookies are delicious but they’re a royal pain in the ass to make. However, they almost didn’t get made not because they’re a pain in the ass but because I have lost my nice marble rolling-pin. In fact, it seems I’ve lost a lot of items and have no idea where they went. I tore the house apart looking for the rolling-pin and several other things….but…poof….they have disappeared. Chriss Angel must have been here and I did not notice his presence, that sneaky bastard.

As Father Time crept up the Last Minute, I managed to find a rolling-pin at Benny’s, of all places. Not as nice as the marble one but it did the job and it took me 3 days to make the freakin’ cookies. OK, I made 4 rounds one night then was so tired I quit for two days before making the last two trays. I worried the dough wouldn’t be any good after sitting in the fridge for 48 hours but looks like all went well. No one got sick. Not yet anyway. I don’t look as forward to making those cookies as I once did since my family has bastardized my grandmother’s recipe by forcing me to add peanut butter…ick. They love them but I hate them. They’re only supposed to be filled with jelly not peanut butter and jelly.

IMG_20131226_101611_1

Bakers out there are looking at those cookies and realizing how hard they are to make. Non-bakers are looking at those cookies wondering if I’ll send them some. :)

Cookies were done by…Monday night? Something like that. Yes, I had enough for everyone. I gave a lot of them away and we still have several tubs of them. I’m sure eventually the birds will get a nice fattening winter treat.

Shopping wasn’t finished until Christmas Eve when someone at my husband’s place of employment got smart and paid him on Christmas Eve rather than the DAY AFTER Christmas which was the scheduled pay day. I ran out to Stop & Shop and picked up everything for appetizers. I ran to the dollar store to get bowls and wine glasses because I wasn’t sure I had enough of either. I ran to the package store where I plopped down $85.00 on; 4 bottles of wine, 2 bottles of spumante, 1 bottle of caramel apple vodka, 1 bottle of Bailey’s with caramel, and a 6-pack of Blue Moon. I figured whatever we didn’t drink on Christmas would get me though the next week of my vacation! LOL And yep, I got a lot of booze left over.

So, since we don’t have much of anything leftover from Christmas dinner, that’s our diet for the next few days; booze and cookies. Sounds healthy, right? ROFLMAO

I was able to drink several glasses of Barefoot Summer Red without having it add to my night sweats. The wine was good, nice and light, and the not-sweating thing was an added bonus. I think I’m pretty much done with the sweats and hot flashes anyway since they’re not nearly as bad as they once were. Now THAT’s what I call a great Christmas Present!

I wanted to be able to eat whatever I wanted without feeling like a stuffed whale or like I was having a heart attack so I also picked up a box of Pepcid ac Maximum Strength. I didn’t think it would work but now I’m gonna buy stock in the company. This stuff is awesome! While I was stuffed I wasn’t ill which was very nice after suffering with this horrible heartburn for a year or more now. I eat Tums like they’re Pez. Not anymore :)

Everyone seemed to like their presents and to have a nice day.

01

02

03

04

05

I got a new coffee maker…fancy one too.
IMG_20131226_104730

A new four slice toaster now we can make toast without burning the crap out of it! AND it has a special ‘bagel setting’.

IMG_20131226_104758

A new bat for my mixer, one with the scraper built in…sweet.

IMG_20131226_104811

I also got a pretty pair of faery earrings and some incense. I tried to take pics of the earrings but my camera doesn’t want to do it. Sometimes I really hate digital. The computer doesn’t ‘recognize’ something so it won’t focus on it. I want it to focus on what I want it to focus on…it doesn’t have to understand what it is. I miss film. I don’t miss paying for development but I miss film.

Today I try to get back to writing. I’ve blocked off the next week and half solely for writing and expanding “Kingdoms of War” let’s hope that’s what happens. I certainly have enough booze for what’s coming up like right now in the story.

Here’s to Apollo being a nasty bastard and whisking me away for a while. I can use the break. :)

In between ALL of that I also managed to tweak the site and tightened it up AND come up with a new Author Logo…..

merchandiseposter

Not too shabby, hey?

Yep, I also got it on some merchandise already. This line will replace the “I Fell in Love With Ares” line in just a few weeks.

mugfront

mugrear
(rear of the mug above)

tote

tshirt

I fixed all of the book pages so they display better too. Looks a tad more professional and hopefully more inviting.

Hope you had a Merry Christmas and that you’re looking forward to a Bright Blessed 2014!

About lbdarling

Dark Erotic Romance Author, Wife, Mother, Pagan, Photographer

Posted on 26/12/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. someone had a very busy time!! and yeah those cookies look awesome *licks lips*

  2. ya know we have never had your cookies here Tx and believe humans here will enjoy more than birds.. nods

Tell Me What You Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

