Hitting the ‘send’ button


wordpress hit counter

Wow! Who knew I had soooo many lawyers on my friends list! LOL! I put up a status asking if there were any and if they would lend me a tiny hand with this project. I was bowled over by the responses. Geez, maybe I should ask if there are any AGENTS on my list??????????????????????? hahahahahaha

One person did a stellar re-write on it for me and a few others advised me not to ‘plant the seed’ and take out the paragraph regarding the role of Ares being ‘inspired by’ Mr. Smith. “Don’t open yourself up for a lawsuit.”

Good advice. I took it.

Now I just have to get up the nerve to hit the ‘send’ button. I know, I shouldn’t be scared. I’ll probably never hear from them and, if I do, the worst they can say is; We don’t know who owns the rights to this photograph.

Then I’m back to square one. Nothing ventured nothing gained. Might as well click it, right?

Here goes nothing.

Light a candle. Send me a good thought. Blow me a kiss….anything.

Hitting it in 3, 2, 1…..oh my gods!

SEND!

Re: Kevin Smith-Photography License

Dear Sir or Madam:

It’s my understanding that you represented Kevin Smith, the actor who portrayed Ares, God of War, on “Hercules” and “Xena.” Since Kevin Smith is, very regretfully, deceased, I need to contact the person who handled his estate. It would also be of great assistance to me if you could tell me either the name of the photographer and/or who owns the rights to the attached photograph and how I can get in touch with them.

I would like to use the photograph in the cover one of my novels, “The Heart of War.” Along with the original photograph, I also attached a
mock-up of the cover for the novel. The novel is quickly nearing completion, and while I don’t plan to go through a publishing house or
agent to bring this work to market, I still need permission to use the photograph.

“The Heart of War” is an adult, erotic, fantasy novel and it is currently available, free of charge, in rough draft form on my website, http://www.moonsmusings.com/heartofwar. It began appearing there in February of this year and is already nearing 40,000 readers. Once it is finished I hope to be able to offer it as a downloadable e-book (for a very nominal fee) and in hard copy format through a POD (Print On Demand) publishing house which utilizes Amazon.com and other well-known online retailers. Pricing for hard copy is determined by the POD and online retailers, and I assure you my ‘cut’ of any such sales is minute at best.

Thank you very much for your time and your consideration of my request, and please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions
regarding this or any other matter concerning “The Heart of War.”

Sincerely yours,
Lisa Beth Darling

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 22/07/2010, in Life, The Writer's Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. WOO HOO!

  2. That is great! im so glad you went through with it.

Tell Me What You Think

