TWL-Advice NEEDED Please Help


wordpress hit counter

As I near the end of this novel and am still aiming to polish it up and go through the whole copyright thing, the whole POD (print on demand), and bring to market thing…again. (OH Gods I must be nuts!) I’ve discovered that I just can’t do it without the cover. That means finding who owns the rights to the photograph….yes, AGAIN. I know, I never did find ‘Moonglow’ and I used their photograph anyway. Bad girl! I can’t really get away with that in this instance…no, not really.

SO….I spent the morning trying to track down anyone involved with Kevin Smith’s estate. Jesus H. Christ! What a job! I finally managed to find the name and address for the person/place that represented him. They’re still in business, looked them up on the web. I’ve spent a little bit of time trying to come with a letter that presents my problem.

Now for your assistance, if you’d be kind enough to give it. The letter follows. Please let me know what you think of it and whether or not I should alter it. I work in a law office so I tried to sound ‘professional’ without sounding like I work in a law office. Any help is much appreciated. I plan to send this letter out early next week via email and hard copy to the address in NZ.

Here goes nothing….again. LOL

Re: Kevin Smith-Photography License

Dear Sir or Madam:

I am writing to you today in the hopes of discovering who owns the rights to the attached photograph of Mr. Smith.

I would like to use the photograph as part of a cover for a novel entitled “The Heart of War”, a mock-up of this cover is also attached for your review. This novel is quickly nearing completion and while I do not intend to go through a publishing house or agent to bring this work to market, I would like to go through proper channels in order to gain permission to use the photograph.

“The Heart of War” is currently available, free of charge, in rough draft form on my website. http://www.moonsmusings.com/heartofwar It began appearing there in February of this year and is already nearing 40,000 readers. Once it is finished I hope to be able to offer it as a downloadable e-book (for a very nominal fee) and in hard copy format through a POD publishing house which utilizes Amazon.com and other well-known online retailers. Pricing for hard copy is determined by the POD and online retailers, I assure you my ‘cut’ of any such sales is minute at best.

This novel is an original work and not a work of fan fiction, however, the ‘character’ of Ares God of War was greatly inspired by Mr. Smith’s portrayal of the same on “Hercules” and “Xena”. Please note, there are absolutely no characters from either of those television shows involved in “The Heart of War”, rather this adult erotic fantasy novel centers around Ares, the Greek Pantheon, the Celtic Pantheon, and a little Fey named Maggie who manages to captures Ares’ heart.

I would be greatly appreciative if you could advise me as to who owns the rights to the photograph so that I may get in touch in with them.

Thank you very much for your time and your consideration of my request.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions regarding this or any other matter concerning “The Heart of War”.

Sincerely yours,
Lisa Beth Darling

Thoughts. Opinions. Suggestions…other than ‘use another illustration’πŸ™‚

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 22/07/2010, in The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. well… it’s really good that u track em down. your just playing safe.πŸ˜€ i hope that they’re gonna allow you for that! really excited about GOW!

  2. It sounds good to me. Not sure what else you would need to cover in the letter. It doesn’t sound to “fan girl-ish” or legal either.

Tell Me What You Think

