Ares Answers


counter for tumblr

The following was done for a blog/review site but they have not given me a date for publication so I’m posting it here for your reading pleasure. Feedback on this one is greatly appreciated!

Author: Lisa Beth Darling
Character being interviewed: Ares God of War
Book: “The Heart of War” Book #1 in the OF WAR Series

Please give me a 350-600 word blurb about your book from your Character’s POV.
There I am, in exile for 200 years from Olympus, sitting on my island with my women—I have…had…eight of them—when, out of nowhere, this woman washes up on my shore. My island is extremely private there should never be any uninvited guests so I went to kill her before she could tell anyone about me but she was dying when I got there so I left her alone. Funny, she didn’t die she wandered around and had the nerve to hit me in the head with a rock when I attacked her. Anyway, it wasn’t long before I discovered this silver haired/gray eyed little Fey belonged to Cernunnos then I was glad I didn’t kill her because that would have caused a lot of trouble. Killing another God’s property causes a lot of headaches, you understand.
When she woke and told me her name, Magdalena, Maggie for short, I thought it unsuited to her so I renamed her, Alena. I searched the horizon and shores for signs of a shipwreck but there were none, it was as though she fell from the sky. She gave me some song and dance about a boat she was on being taken over by pirates and then blown up, I didn’t believe her, I thought she was a spy for Cernunnos so I checked out her story and went to Africa where Alena worked in a refugee camp. Nasty place, I don’t suggest anyone take vacation in Ceres Agar. Anyway, while I was gone, my brother Apollo visited the island and tried to take Alena away as my head woman Kat took it upon herself to have my little Onya raped by two of my men. Alena jumped into battle, she killed both men and was about to kill Kat when I showed up. I wanted the satisfaction of the kill so I took it away from Alena and did it myself.

We made love for the first time that night, it started off as a barter; she’d sleep with me, give me her chastity, if I would protect her from my family and from Cernunnos whom she’d been running from for centuries. Sounded like a good deal to me, I didn’t mean to fall in love with her but Fate had other plans. I took her virginity and she took my heart.

Alena wouldn’t go to Olympus without me so I took her and they tried to take her away from me. No one takes what’s mine. Certainly not them. My family never liked me, never wanted me to be happy, they despise me and all that I am.

Cernunnos sent his Druids after her, they invaded my island, killed my men, but she was magnificent in battle! I never saw anything quite like her, this tiny woman with the heart and prowess of a lion. Side-by-side we fought until all of the Druids were dead and sea ran red with their blood. We beat them back that time but they put a dark curse on me. We won’t talk about that, let’s just say it’s over now and leave it there.

Cernunnos had a spy among the Olympians and they snatched Alena away from me brought her to him. Taking his wife back wasn’t the only thing Cernunnos wanted with Alena he had a secret master plan to absorb the power of all the Gods and Alena was the key. It was a long glorious battle but, as you can see, I am here and he is not.

Why?

Because I am Ares God of War and no one takes what’s mine.

Q&A with Ares God of War:

We all want to be different, so what is the one thing you wish your creator had done differently with you?
Lisa’s done a good job with me, I mean LOOK at me; I’m tall, dark, incredibly handsome, powerful, and ravenously sexual. She even managed to capture my air of arrogance and, admittedly some times, intimidating ways. Really, what more could I want?

If you could have added something to the story, and your creator would have let you, what would that have been?
More battle scenes, I love to fight. Lisa hates to write them she feels she doesn’t do a good job with them but I disagree.

What do you love best about yourself? What do you like least?
I think I answered this question already, and, what’s not to like? Again, LOOK at me.

What woman wouldn’t want ME? If I have to pick something I don’t like about myself, I would maybe say it’s the underlying layer of self-doubt Lisa has also captured, I think only she could see it hiding under all of…this. (points to his own brawny body) Some people say it humanizes me but I think it shows weakness and I’m not weak. I have no real frailties. Well, except for my wife, Alena, of course.

What part of the book was the hardest for you and your creator to work through?
My sordid past, Lisa hates to look at it but I’m rather proud of it. She’s always known that I’m no Knight in Shining Armor, my armor is battle-hardened black leather and it’s well worn. Still, she’s no fan of picking my past apart and having a good look at it. I say that, without it, I wouldn’t be the God of War, now would I? I’d be my idiot brother, Apollo.

Is there a sequel for this book? If so, what do you want to accomplish in the next book. If not, do you wish you could continue your story?
When I’m done with her, Lisa will have written 4 novels for the OF WAR Series. Book #1, The Heart of War, is all about Alena and I falling in love and the obstacles we face. Book #2, Child of War-A God is Born is about the birth of our son, Raven, and his early years. He’s quite the hellion and Alena’s having a very hard time with him. Book #3 will be Child of War-Rising Son and will explore Raven’s coming of age and redeeming himself from some rather nasty and even horrific things he’s done. Book #4 Spoils of War will be about, well, Lisa won’t let me tell, she says it will spoil everything and, here I have to listen to her or she won’t write for me. That would be disastrous. We also have a fluffy/sweet little short story “Christmas Eve on Olympus”, which she’s giving away until Christmas. I don’t like giving things away but Lisa insisted on giving her friends and readers a little holiday gift.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 20/12/2011, in guest blogs, The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you. And thank you also for Ares a see via Kevin Smith. That man was a fantastic Ares – I miss him.

Tell Me What You Think

