Book Nerd-Interview & Review


The following was originally published December 19, 2011 by The Book Nerd

How would you describe yourself in three words?

Quiet. Shy. Hippie-chick.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Norwalk, CT and have been a resident of New London, CT since shortly after that.

What inspired you to pen your first novel?

The Muse. I was in Junior High when I wrote my first novel, I have no idea where the story came from or why I wrote it. I just know my classmates loved it and my teachers were disturbed by it even they praised it. That my clue that I could actually write a good story.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Total number of novels is 13 working on 14 now. “The Heart of War” is my favorite, I think it’s the best story the Muse and I have written to date.

What were your feelings when your first novel was accepted/when you first saw the cover?

I have a sad tale of woe here; I was thrilled when “The Heart of War” was first accepted and then the deal fell through. It was accepted by 3 more companies after that and, for various reasons, none of them was really a good fit for me and what I write. I grew quickly disheartened with the current state of the ‘publishing industry’ and decided to self-publish. I’d been doing that for years anyway, putting up my stories free to read on the Internet so I figured; why not? I taught myself a whole bunch of new things from getting on Kindle/Nook/et al to file conversation/formatting to promotion and, yes, the book cover. I’ve done all of my covers and everything else you see associated with my books. Needless to say, I was pretty pleased with the final result on the cover since I’ve never taken a class in PhotoShop or anything like that.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing Child of War-A God is Born?

Ricky Nelson once crooned that; “You can’t please everyone so you got to please yourself.” I discovered he was right. I get kicked around a lot for the violence in my stories so, when the Muse and I sat down to write “Child” we did so with the thought of a peace offering to the mass public. We would keep the violence to a minimum, there would be no rape scenes (there’s a tiny tiny one at tail-end) and we would keep it shorter to try and make the almighty ‘word count’. We stayed within all realms to the best of our ability and people still kicked me around for the violence. I don’t see it as being a violent story and I’m not sure why others do. All I do know is that when it comes to “Rising Son” we’re just back to doing it our way–no holds barred.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Like most writers, I suppose, I don’t hear as much from my readers as I would like. I do have a core group of readers who never fail to get in touch with me after they’ve read one of my stories and I love to bits for it. I wish others would feel freer to drop me an email. I don’t want to get into the types of things they say because I can’t word it without sounding like I’m bragging so let’s just say that they seem to enjoy my stories very much. That’s all a writer can really hope for, isn’t it? That someone, any one, out there will read and become immersed in one of their tales.

If you could introduce one of your characters to any character from another book, who would it be and why?

Strangely enough, I might introduce Ares to Ares. I’ve been working with him for a very long time and he’s been in several of my novels–most of which no one will ever read, unless they were a “Stargate SG-1” fan and read my “Daughter of the Gods” series while it was online for several years. I might take the Ares from DOTG and introduce him to the ‘new and improved’ Ares from the OF WAR Series and show him how far he’s come.

Who is your favorite character in this book, and why?

Ares, he’s the Alpha Male to end all Alpha Males. I just love him, everything about him, even how wickedly arrogant he is.

Where did you get your idea for Child of War?

I know most of those who read “The Heart of War” were looking forward to a rather light fluffy tale in “Child of War-A God is Born” some cutesy stuff about raising an Olympian but the Muse I don’t really do ‘cute’ or ‘light’ or ‘fluffy’. I didn’t want Raven, Ares’ and Alena’s son, to be any of those things. What I do LOVE is 70’s and 80’s horror movies, especially those revolving around children. I took everything I learned from movies such as “The Omen”, “Rosemary’s Baby” and “The Exorcist” and took a smattering of ‘Chucky’ from “Child’s Play” along with a pinch of ‘Isaac’ from “Children of the Corn” poured it all into Raven.

What chapter was the most memorable to write and why?

The chapter where Ares has sex with Aphrodite against his wishes. He makes a nasty bargain with Zeus and then has to go through with it. I knew some readers would hate it and others would get it right off the bat. When it came time to do it, the Muse and I just had fun with it. We went from the angle of what would *I* do if I had Ares tied to a bed for one night.

What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 30 or less words, what would you say?

The newest novel in the OF WAR Series will be “Child of War-Rising Son” and it will be out near the end of February or mid-March. It’s Raven’s coming-of-age story, lots of plot twists, new developments, hot-young-stud-sex (don’t forget that!) and, with any luck at all, redemption for Raven.

Which author would you love to co-author a book with?

Stephen King. I’d love to co-author a book with him, be his secretary, get his coffee, go out to lunch with him…anything. Just let me pick his brain for a little while!!

Beyond your own work (of course), what is your all-time favorite book and why? And what is your favorite book outside your genre?

I’m a Classic King fan to the end, my favorite book of all-time is “The Stand”. I read it in high school, I couldn’t stop reading it. I’d hide it behind my text book in class so it looked like I was keeping up with Accounting but I was really rolling down I-70 with Mr. King and Crew. I got caught by Mr. Callahan who thought I was too engrossed in debits and credits, pulled down the text book, saw “The Stand” below it, grinned at me and then just walked away. I guess he was King fan too! My favorite story outside my genre is “Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption” also by Stephen King. I bawled my eyes out reading that story, the pages are still tear-stained and every time I watch the movie as soon as ‘Red’ & ‘Andy’ start their conversation as they’re sitting on the ground by the wall….I start tearing up…when ‘Andy’ walks down the hall in the warden’s shoes, I start crying and I cry straight through to the end. Every. Single. Time. In fact, I’ve dedicated most of my books to ‘Red’ & ‘Andy’.

What question are you never asked in interviews but wish you were?

I think, by now, I’ve been asked about just about everything except my sex life.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?

A&E did a good job with “Bag of Bones”, I enjoyed watching it. As for my weekly TV schedule I never miss; ‘Bones’, ‘The Mentalist’ (which I just started getting into), ‘NCIS’, ‘NCIS: LA’, ‘The Closer’, and ‘Person of Interest’. Unfortunately the last clashes with the first and I don’t have TiVo…bummer.

What was a time in your life when you were really scared?

That’s a difficult question. I suffer from Panic Disorder, I am conquering it and have gotten much better over the years but for quite a long while just hearing a strange noise in the house or a knock on the door was enough to send my heart racing and make me break out in a cold sweat. Some times it would happen when I was just sitting still; I’d suddenly feel like I was about to die! It’s a terrible thing when your mind betrays you that way.

List 3 of your all time favorite movies?

Shawshank Redemption
The Breakfast Club
When Harry Met Sally

Favorite food?

Smother it in chocolate and I’ll eat it!

What book are you reading now?

I’m hoping to get ’11/23/63′ for Christmas

Where can your readers stalk you?

Stalkers are welcome but friends are always better, so if you ‘stalk’ me don’t be afraid to say ‘hi’. I don’t bite, well, unless you’re a gorgeous 6’3-6’4 dark skinned/haired/eyes muscular male. Then I’ll bite but I think you’ll like it.😉
Blog: https://lbdarling.wordpress.com
Web site: http://www.moonsmusings.com/lbdarling
Facebook: http://facebook.com/lbarling (fan page)
Twitter: lb_darling

REVIEW-“Child of War-A God is Born”
Lisa Beth Darling adeptly crafted a saga full of action, surprises, and powerful gods. In Child of War, she continues to deliver and mesmerize readers. The second book of Darling’s Of War series is the continuance of Alena and Ares’ love. The couple faces hatred amongst the Olympians because Alena is a half-blood fay. Darling takes us on ride with the couple and puts us on the front seat to witness and experience all of their battles, troubles, and adventures while they try to keep their relationship intact.

Child of War takes a story-line turn as the focus is shifted from their growing relationship into dealing with their relationship with the Olympians. We also get in-depth details with the Gods’ dishonesty, egocentricity, and disloyalty.

Child of War was dark with a wide range of emotions that covers treachery, misery, lust, aggression, and envy. Darling provides a detailed writing-style that easily enthralls the reader. The not-so-perfect, but yet fascinating lives of Alena and Ares is a story that is most intriguing and will keep readers turning the page to eagerly see what is going to happen next. There are a lot of colorful characters that at times, had me yelling and crying with them. This is a book that will surely please any fans of the paranormal and fantasy genre.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 20/12/2011, in The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

