Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award


counter for tumblr

Well…I did it. I tossed “Child of War-A God is Born” into the ring for the 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

I picked ‘fantasy’ as the genre, it was nice that the ‘general’ a/k/a adult category was broken down a bit this year. Bummer, they didn’t have ‘paranormal’ and I don’t think this one qualifies as ‘thriller/suspense’ and I thought tossing it in with a bunch of light fluffy romance works probably wasn’t the right move.πŸ˜‰

The hardest part was the pitch which had to be 300 words. I took the blurb and reworked it a bit. Topped out at 299 words, what do you think?

Do you remember Damien? Raven makes that kid look like an angel.

In book #2 of the OF WAR Series, Ares settles down with his wife, Alena, to await the birth of their son, Raven. As Alena struggles to enjoy what should be a blessed event, prophetic visions of an adult Raven haunt her dreams. Are they true visions or false ones implanted by Cernunnos who told her the boy would bring glory to Ares but only pain and agony to her? The strong but delicate Fey is relentlessly bombarded by hostility from the Olympians making her yearn to be back on Ares’ secluded island home, far away from all the bickering and backstabbing that makes up Life on mighty Mount Olympus.

Before Raven is even born, Zeus outwardly despises him for his Fey blood given to him by his filthy Celtic mother. With no way out and no way to keep his family safe from his father, Zeus the God of Gods, Ares enters into a blood pact that could cost the God of War everything he holds dear.

After a harrowing birth wherein mother and son are nearly lost to Ares, it quickly becomes clear that Raven may be the most powerful and cunning Olympian ever born despite his muddled bloodline.

As Zeus, Apollo, and Aphrodite plot against the new family by carefully planting the seeds of rage and doubt in Raven’s mind, they turn son against mother. It appears as though Alena’s visions and Cernunnos’ prophecy are coming to life as Raven grows to be a very angry young man.

As the true past between the Olympians and Celts is revealed, the battle for Ravens’ mind and the ultimate control of Olympus begins. Before it’s over, the white snows of Olympus will run red with blood.

Personally, I’m thinking I’ll use that as the new blurb!

Then I had to upload the manuscript and fudged that. All identifying information must be removed from pitch, excerpt, and manuscript but I went and uploaded a regular copy of the book. Took FOREVER to figure out how to fix it even though they insisted I could edit my entry at any time up to the deadline OR until 5000 submissions were received. Not only did I have to remove the identifying information I had to reformat it back to 8×11.5, double space it and add in header and footer. BUT I managed it, so I guess that’s the important part! LOL

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know considering what won last year I don’t have a snowball’s chance in hell but….awwww….what the hell? It didn’t cost anything and if I make it past the first round (and that pitch is pretty good, but that’s just my opinion) then I’ll be happy. Making it past the second round would be icing on the cake! The excerpt had to be the first 3,000-5,000 words of the manuscript and we topped out at 4,981…I wanted to get just a tiny bit farther but thought that was probably the best place to end it. Yes, I went over it with a fine toothed comb but that doesn’t mean anything. LOL

Oh well, let’s hope there’s an Ares fan or two on the judging panel, hey?πŸ™‚

Filling out the contact/about you part they asked if the writer had ever participated in any previous story awards so I thought about it and then went for it. I put down the Rock the House Awards, the White Board Awards, the Blue Moon Awards, Stargate Fan Awards, and GoodReads. Other than the SFAs none of them really identify themselves as being fanfiction awards so I figured….why not. Fanfic is a double-edge sword in this business, it seems perfectly ok to write it so long as you don’t tell anyone. It didn’t ask me to state if I’d WON any awards just if I participated so only named the programs. Do I think I should put down what I won and when? Really not sure there.

In any event, it’s done and can be edited (now that I figured out how!) for a little while. So if anyone wants to step up with advice I’m all ears! Other than that, wish The Big Guy and me a little luck! I really wouldn’t mind winning the $15,000.00 publishing contract with Penguin…the Master used to write for them! That’d be awesome, huh?

Then again I’d just like someone else to come along and take all of this promo shit off my hands…hahahahahaha!

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 24/01/2012, in Child of War, The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good luck, Lisa. I still can’t get over that first part about making Damien look like a angel. Raven almost makes Jack the Ripper look like an angel lol.

  2. Good luck, I’m thinking of entering my novel Saving Avalon. I’m just not sure it’s ready yet.

    • Thank you! You should do it. My line of reasoning is; it doesn’t cost anything (big plus there! LOL) and the good old ‘nothing ventured nothing gained’ adage. Kinda old fashioned but it works for meπŸ™‚

Tell Me What You Think

