Google CheckOut vs. PayPal


counter for tumblr

While the whole PayPal Debacle rages on and people back-peddle and try to make excuses I think I may come out on top on this one. (Yeah, ‘on top’ is always a good place to be! LOL)

I figure, in the end, it will turn out to be a good thing if, for no other reason, than getting me to switch to Google CheckOut which is sooooo much easier than PayPal! I’m not kidding. I’ve struggled with PayPal for years because it’s the ‘most favored way to pay online’ so I was stuck with it. It SUCKS. If you don’t have a Merchant Account with them and/or if you don’t know a whole bunch of the ‘back doors’ and HTML tricks you’re nearly f’d when it comes to selling digital products with PayPal. The ONLY way I found to it do so that it works with ALL browsers was to send people to a page where my books/pictures could be downloaded after purchase. (That was after asking PayPal why the darn thing didn’t always go straight to the file like I told it to.) Authors have been begging PayPal to fix this problem there are all kinds of posts on the boards over there from authors wondering why their code doesn’t work and why their books don’t download the way they should. PayPal’s best suggestion of opening a page to send customers to for download was their best fix unless you happened to be some internet guru who could sift through all the CRAP to get the code working properly.

The problem with sending people to a page after purchase is that not everyone is honest….those of who sell through Kindle and see the ‘return rate’ know that I mean. People will bookmark the link and send it out to their friends so they can download free.

Add to that the fact that half the time the downloads didn’t work and I ended up getting an email from an upset customer and having to send them whatever they purchased. It really just wasn’t very good but it’s what I had to work with…until they blew up and had a hissy fit.

Not with Google CheckOut!

Google CheckOut is actually DESIGNED to handle ‘digital goods’. What a concept, huh??? I was shocked when I first signed up and started inputting information for the buy codes there is actually a box you can check for ‘digital good’ instead of something you have to ship. I filled out the information for each buy link sending the customer to the FILE and not a PAGE at completion of the transaction. It even allowed me to add a security key….you know, a passcode…the people have to add in to finish the transaction. AND GCO doesn’t keep a freakin’ laundry list of every buy link you’ve ever made so you DO NOT have to sit there sifting through X amount of old links to find the one you want to edit. PP doesn’t even allow for bulk deletion of old buy codes you have to do them one at a time and it was a royal pain in the ass. I hated updating my buy links with PayPal. It was such a chore and if I had to do a lot of updating it took hours. Now I just make new code! There’s nothing to sift through. Nothing to edit. Nothing to delete.

Honestly, if you were thinking about leaving PayPal…or if you were thinking of selling through them…don’t. Google CheckOut is the way better system for merchants. Yes, it’s a little less convenient for the customer who probably has a PayPal account and not a Google CheckOut account but it’s free just like PayPal and if they really want to buy your book/picture/whatever they’ll sign up with it. The more people like me who sign up with and use Google CheckOut (or similar) then the more buyers will open accounts with those financial middlemen.

For those who don’t want to sign up with Google CheckOut, I still take PayPal by request and I provided them with links to my books on Kindle, Nook, and Smashwords so they can buy from those retailers if it suits them. Of course they pay $1.00 more to go through one of those sites…well, they pay up to $3.00 more if they buy through Smashwords just because Smashwords only pays out quarterly instead of every month like Kindle and Nook. I don’t know about you but I really hate waiting to get my money no matter how little it is! LOL That’s part of the reason I dropped All Romance E-Books, they pay quarterly too. It’s too long of a wait between meager paychecks. I mean, ya know, I didn’t buy stock or something so why shouldn’t I get paid monthly? Just a suggestion for those two sites not that either of them care.🙂

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 01/03/2012, in The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. this is actually very good advice, i did check out the google checkout and yes it is very easy to use, specially since we tend to buy via Visa most of the time, at least online.
    i’m still waiting on the letter from smashwords to get that bloody thing started, takes up to 2/6 weeks …. oh i couldn’t have started it sooner because they will only allow you to go that far once the quarterly pay is due ….
    i’m still determined to publish SIW, just not sure where, the joy, i’m not superfond of kindle but we’ll see how times goes by. prob have to come up with a better, more suite penname too *giggles* mokkelke is actually a dutch dialect word, not really a name hihi

    • Someone told me that mokkelke is a pastry/dessert…is that right?

      Other than selling SIW on your own site there are lots of little e-book retailers starving for business and, so far, PayPal doesn’t seem to have hit them yet. You try 1placeforromance.com and their sister site 1eroticaebooks.com I had some success with those two. Bookmato.com and bibliocracy.com are also small but good sites.

      • pastry? dear lord. i could wish i was pastry hihihi mokkelke is kinda slang for beautiful woman aka a hot chick. actually it’s mokkel the “ke” is more like saying little darling instead of darling, if that makes sense?

Tell Me What You Think

