The Kitchen Project


counter for tumblr

Yes, we’re still moving along on this!

I don’t remember if I posted the first couple of pics before or not. They were on the same memory card as Nikki’s wedding and I think I only posted pics of that lovely event.

So….first we have the second cabinet. We started here…

Then we got to here

And then….

That’s better, huh??? LOL

Now it’s on to the BIG stuff. Here’s my lovely kitchen again…

Time to do that big beam which has somewhere around 50 years worth of greasy dust caked on it and it’s taken my poor hubby a lot of work to get the crap off. But I think it’s worth it.

We’re also doing the first part of the cabinets on this side of the kitchen.

Yeah….no, the lower drawers and by the sink have not already been sanded. They simply don’t have any varnish left on them!


Yeah, that’s disgusting, isn’t it?? LOL

As of today we are here


I had to remove the old contact paper again. This time I tried an iron instead of a hair dryer–ok, ok, I couldn’t FIND the hair dryer. I turned on the iron, got it good and hot, and put it on the contact paper to start heating up the old glue.

Who’s laughing out there? I hear you!

YEP, that crap MELTED to the iron. I turned to hubby with iron in hand and said: “I don’t think this is going to work.”

He shook his head, smiled, and said: “Did you try putting down a towel and ironing that, ya know, instead of the plastic contact paper?”

πŸ™‚

Boy THAT worked GREAT! hahahahahaha

Then I discovered my mother never put paper down on the top shelf and it’s g-r-o-s-s! That will have to be sanded before putting down any paper.

The whole beam is done–both sides–and all of the molding. Hubby has tomorrow off so it’ll be time to wash, tack, and put on the first coat over the whole deal. I’ll post pics again when this part is done. Then we’ll do the next two cabinet plus the cut out over the sink and the two cabinets on the other side. After that it’s the two high cabinets (one over the stove, the other over the refrigerator). Then the bottom cabinets–which hardly need any TLC at all!πŸ˜‰

Once those are done we’ll pick out new counter tops and install them. We saw a rather nice one at Lowe’s but it wasn’t quite what I’m looking for. But, hey, at least I saw what we’re going to be dealing with. I was under the impression we were going to be peeling and sticking down some type of laminate on the tops but we’re ditching the whole thing-particle board and all. That’ll be nice. A lot of work making cuts but it’ll be nice. After THAT we’ll paint.

See….almost there!πŸ™‚

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 06/03/2012, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait to see your “after” photos. We redid our kitchen several years ago, and we’re so glad we did. We enjoy it every day.

Tell Me What You Think

