What is Sexy


I did some writing yesterday and then sat down with hubby to watch a little TV. To my surprise he stopped flipping channels on

This is a timeless classic right up there with “Casablanca”, and “The African Queen”. In case you’re a lot younger than I am those three people up there in the picture are;

Tony Curtis, ex-husband of Janet and father of Jamie Lee (below)

The other guy is

Jack Lemmon

And the hot chick is

Marilyn Monroe

As we sat there watching and laughing I pointed these facts out to my husband who, sort of surly insisted that he knew who Marilyn Monroe was! Something odd happened as we watched and all of sudden we turned to each other with the same thought; If Marilyn tried to get a job in Hollywood TODAY some director would tell her to lose 20-30 pounds, tone up, and come back.

I thought; Gee, what a shame.

Let’s face it she was never what one would call FAT. She was a bit ‘womanly’. Like her counterparts…

Betty Grable

Cyd Charisse

Elizabeth Taylor

Rita Hayworth (without the Shawshank Redemption!)

Jayne Mansfield–mother of

Mariska Hargitay

Not seeing my point yet? Ok, well, let’s flip ahead to the 60s

Sophia Loren

Raquel Welch

By the way, the above two women defy age, explanation, and gravity!!!

Sophia Loren–a more current picture

There’s Raquel again….both holding up very nicely for women in their 70s don’t you think????

Now let’s take a look at some recent stars, shall we?

Megan Fox

Angelina Jolie

Halle Berry

Olivia Wilde

Sandra Bullock

For the love of the GODS! Would someone PLEASE get these women a steak with a baked potato smothered in sour cream??? Can’t you see they’re STARVING to DEATH! Help them! Before it’s too late!

But there does seem to be one or two women out there who wear their more jiggly parts with pride, my favorite actress happens to be among them.

Yes, that’s Julia Roberts with a little paunch, a muffin top, and heavens be praised! A bit of cellulite on her tush and thighs!

What I really want to know here today is how we got here

Kiera Knightly

From here

When did our tastes stop running towards shapely women and start sprinting toward teenage boys? I know it’s an Age Old Question, I just thought it was a damn shame to know that in 2012 Marilyn Monroe probably couldn’t get a job in the chorus line of a an off-off Broadway play because some director/producer would say she was too fat for the costumes.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 02/04/2012, in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Funny coincidence…I was just having a discussion about MM’s size not too long ago on Cafemom. Some were claiming that she was never anywhere near a 16 and that by todays sizes she was a 6 or 8. I found a great blog where the blooger went in and compared MM’s measurements, dress size, today’s standards etc. While her waist was small enough to be an 8 most of the time, her hips and chest never were. by today’s standard she would likely need a 12-14 pants (then have the waist taken in to a 8-10) and a 16-18 top/dress

    • My how times change, huh? Especially now as I get older I just find this whole concept stranger and stranger. I used to be skinny-minnie in my teens, yes once I looked more like Megan Fox than Marilyn Monroe, LOL but I sort of like my body better now. I like the curves, I could do with a little bit more ‘up top’ but maybe I’ll get there before I expire. For shits and giggles, I went over to Google and started looking for ACTORS who I thought might not get work based on similar standards and I couldn’t find a single one!! Not one! Grrrrrr🙂

  2. PapaWolf Bratt the Bratt Prince of the Universe

    I love the older beauty standards, fluffy chics rule my libido and hunger.
    I used to love Sarah Rue ie movie Gypsy85 before she lost all her lbs. sigh.
    chubby chics fuck and suck better then itty bittys and while i wont toss one out of bed but given choice tween Megan Fox and Camryn Manheim or Clara from the Guild

  3. I really love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own
    blog and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named.
    Many thanks!

  4. Hi there mates, good article and pleasant arguments
    commented here, I am actually enjoying by these.

  5. It’s difficult to find educated people for this subject, however, you sound like you know
    what you’re talking about! Thanks

  6. Sophia Loren, Raquel Welch, Rita Hayworth! That’s beauty!!!

  1. Pingback: An Age Old Subject « Lisa Beth Darling

  2. Pingback: Flamboyant Gamine “Curves” | Style Syntax

Tell Me What You Think

