Fort Trumbull–The Real One


Greetings from “Beautiful Downtown New London”!

Today I got to do something I’ve never done before…I actually went INSIDE Fort Trumbull! I’ve lived here in New London all of my life and I’ve never been in “The Fort”. I’m almost positive the place was closed to visitors when I was very young then the State took it over and started charging people to go in. It was nice of Friends of Fort Trumbull and the State of Connecticut to let us locals into a place we help pay the upkeep on.

It was really cool! I have to admit I’m very glad I went in.

Yep, very cool!

It’s just too bad it’s still standing guard over our lovely “Field of Dreams” here

I pieced that together from 4 photos to give you a real view of the emptiness and that’s not even half of it. Bummer.

Still, it was fun and very historic…duh. I’ve always wanted to go inside.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 09/06/2012, in fort trumbull, new london. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks like an interesting place to visit. If I’m ever in New London, I’ll definitely add it to my list of places to visit.

    • It’s actually one of the few historical attractions in New London that I would highly recommend. It’s small but it’s very interesting!

  2. Lovetiggi's Book Reviews

    Reblogged this on Lovetiggi's Book Reviews and commented:
    Cool Pics!

Tell Me What You Think

