The Food Adventure Begins–O’Rourke’s Diner


Hubby and I don’t agree on much as far as TV (or anything) goes. He likes “Swamp People”. I like “Criminal Minds”. He likes “Sons of Guns”. I like “Law & Order”. You get the idea. BUT we both agree on “Man vs. Food” and “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives”. We have both volunteered to be groupies, camera crew, scouts…whatever is needed…for Guy and/or Adam. No problem.๐Ÿ™‚

We have always said that one day we are going to start going to some of these places brought to us by Adam and Guy. That’s our big “retirement plan” a Minnie Winnie and food! We’re going to hit every BBQ Festival from the Carolinas to Texas….one day. But we need to start a little closer to home.

Today, we had to go to Hartford (more on that in another post) and I looked up Guy and Adam to see if they recommended anything that might be on the way or close to on the way. My friend Mokkelke was kind enough to do the same for me! LOL We both came up with O’Rourke’s Diner located in Middletown, Connecticut. So, this afternoon, our Food Adventure officially began.

As Guy advised on his show, this is not your typical diner. (Which means I’m still on the hunt for the perfect turkey dinner! One I didn’t have to make for myself…or anyone else.) If you’re expecting to find typical diner fare this may not be for you. But if you’re a little adventurous–just a tiny bit–you’ll probably love it. Personally, I can’t wait to go back.

The place is tinier than I thought. It’s really nothing more than your old-fashioned Hole in the Wall

They even serve Coca-Cola in the original 8oz. glass bottles. I LOVE those things! They make me feel like a kid again. I had TWO! LOL

Hubby had a very yummy turkey sandwich (real turkey, not compressed deli turkey) with horseradish sauce and fries. He was very happy!

I got one of the day’s specials; a chicken salad wrap with fried risotto.

The chicken salad was made with thyme, tarragon, and lemon….ooooo it was soooo good! When it came and I looked at it, I thought those were some type of crazy batter dipped fries. I’d forgotten the very nice waitress, Amy, said it was risotto. I bit into it and the crunch was awesome. It even tasted like potato and, hey, we are in an IRISH diner so it should be potato.๐Ÿ˜‰ I asked again what it was and she told me and I must learn how to make these things. They’re absolutely wonderful. Or, as Guy might say, “they’re off the hook!”

So if you come to this neck of the woods you should try O’Rourke’s Diner in Middletown, CT. Hours 6am-3pm. Besides, you might actually like Middletown it’s a ‘quaint New England city’ and I happen to be rather partial to it.

That’s one down and a thousand to go!

HAZZAR! We’re off on our Grand Food Adventure.

wordpress stat

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 27/06/2012, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Lynn A. Reynolds

    Guy did a Triple D book but I haven’t gone to the library to check it out. I’m a fan of both Guy and Adam as well. Enjoy your foodie adventures.

    • I love those two but here they put ’em on at like 9-10 o’clock at night…I go to sleep soooo hungry!!! LOL I’ll have to check out the book, thanks for the tip!

  2. happy the hunt was successful. looked at the vid clip he had of the place and it all looks jummie indeed. why do i live in bloody Belgium?

    • I don’t know why you live in Belgium but you can come visit me any time! We’ll go to O’Rourke’s….I’ll pay but you have to bring the chocolates! LOL

      • bringing chocolates wouldn’t be a prob getting them still in the wrapping is a whole other issue๐Ÿ˜‰ (not to mention leaving the hubbie 2 kids one doggie and 2.1 cats, yeah i have half a zoo with a new kitten arriving next week )

Tell Me What You Think

