A Few Thoughts on Current Events


First let me admit that I have stolen the below video off the FB page of my good friend Sharon. I wanted to view it at work but I don’t have speakers so I had to wait until I got home to see what the pretty blonde lady had to say on this matter. Click it…don’t click it…I think it’s worth a watch before you read this post.

OK, so, in case you’re like me and up until a few days ago you had never even heard of this company–closest one to me is in Burlington, MA–the owner doesn’t like gay people. Yeah…just in case you’ve been living under a rock these last few days, I thought I’d throw that out there for ya.🙂

Looks like the business donated something like $2million dollars to anti-gay organizations.

Oh bother.

Then Mr. Cathy said something along the lines of; “I think we are inviting God’s judgment on our nation when we shake our fist at Him and say, ‘We know better than you as to what constitutes a marriage,’ and I pray God’s mercy on our generation that has such a prideful, arrogant attitude to think that we have the audacity to try to redefine what marriage is about,”

Oh crap.

Then he explained; “We are very much supportive of the family — the biblical definition of the family unit. We are a family-owned business, a family-led business, and we are married to our first wives. We give God thanks for that…we know that it might not be popular with everyone, but thank the Lord, we live in a country where we can share our values and operate on biblical principles.”

Oh shit.

Seeing as how I’ve never had one of Mr. Cathy’s sandwiches…nor will I at any future point…I am not giving up anything when I say that I will not eat at Chick-Fil-A. Nope, they just got put right under Wal-Mart on the Never Shop/Spend Money Here List.

People will argue that Mr. Cathy has a right to his opinion and to trumpet it proudly. They will argue he has the right to do whatever he wants with his money.

Yes, he does. I will back his personal right to do all of that any day of the week.

His right to do it on behalf of a business that doesn’t even particularly qualify as ‘small’? Not so much. No. In my mind, businesses/corporations are entities/institutions they are not people. They have no brains. They have no hearts. Therefore they should have no opinion on anything…at all. Zero. Zip. Nada. Nuth-ing.

As for all of the Biblical stuff, well, to tell you the truth, I’m just sick n tired of beating my head against that particular Brick Wall. That fanatical fringe will never understand. They will only ever see what they want to see. They will never see anything beyond that. Of course, once someone like me comes to grips with matters like that Life gets soooo much easier! Talking, arguing, reasoning, it’s all pointless. I don’t bother doing it anymore. I just smile and nod in a manner that any fool could easily read as Fuck You but not them. They only see what they want to see.

Once in a while one of “them” comes a long that I can actually have a nice passionate discussion/debate with and not have it degrade into mindless dogma. Not get pissy or angry or walk away mad and not talk ever again. Sadly, those types of conversations are few and far between.

The pretty blonde lady in the video does a very nice job of responding to the Biblical aspects of what Mr. Cathy is saying and doing. I do have one more quote to add to the mix.

“Render unto Caesar the things which are Caesar’s, and unto God the things that are God’s” (Matthew 22:21)

I argue that this is not “God’s” domain, it is Caesar’s. Here Caesar (the citizens, us lowly Mortals) makes the laws. If there ever comes a time that “God” disagrees I for one am sure He will have no trouble at all letting us the rest of us know all about it.

If it is true that “God Doesn’t Make Any Junk” and “God Doesn’t Make Mistakes” then those of the homosexual orientation are not junk, they are not less than “us” and they are not mistakes. “God” made them the way He intended them. Being gay is not a ‘lifestyle choice’ it is a simple fact of an individual’s core being. Their soul. Their essence. It is something they cannot change. It is something of which they should not be ashamed. They should not be forced to hide or live in fear.

They have done nothing wrong.

If you think otherwise, kindly comment below telling us the tale of the moment in time that you ‘decided’ you were going to be straight. Tell us all about the struggles you faced coming to that ‘decision’. How you weighed the pros and cons carefully and then said to yourself; “Yes, I think I’ll be straight.” Floor’s all yours. Go for it.

As for me, being straight was a simple discovery I made long about first grade when a cute boy made me all warm and fuzzy inside. (I can still tell you his name and that he was wearing a light blue shirt!) Girls didn’t do that for me.

That was it. End of story. I am straight. I am also white, short, female, and have freckles. These things I cannot change. I don’t think I should be looked down upon or picked on or singled out because any of them. I don’t think I should be refused a job for which I am qualified because of them or an apartment or a car loan or getting married. I don’t think anyone should be penalized for those things that are inherent in them and they have no control over. (Rapists/Murders/Psychopaths/Sociopaths aside, of course.)

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; if you MUST hate someone do it because they’re an asshole, a liar, a thief, a cheat, just an all-around scumb-bag. Don’t do it because of their gender, the color of their skin, their heritage, or sexual orientation. Don’t do it because “God” (any “God”) said so. To presume to know the Mind of God is an egregious sin. To presume to speak for Him even worse. If you wish to live your life by the teachings of the Bible and the Christian God, go for it. At the top of your list of Words to Live By write; Judge Not Lest Ye Be Judged and follow that with Love Thy Neighbor.

Start there. You may get further and understand more than you ever thought possible.
counter for tumblr

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 27/07/2012, in Life, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well written my mighty tiny sis. This Wolf is proud to be your family.

Tell Me What You Think

