Child of War-Rising Son-On Sale Now!


Well, we are steam rollin’ toward the end here! I got an email yesterday from someone wanting to know where she bought the hard covers. After all, it was October 24th and I promised to start taking orders on October 24th. LOL

No, actually, it was more like; Oh shit! 🙂

I stopped writing and realized I was going to have to make a mockup and guesstimate at how many pages are left. I dumped 77 pages in at the end of the mock-up, formatted it, put in the ISBN and the title and all of that happy shit and ended up with 661 pages! I told we were working on “War and Peace” here, didn’t I? I had to make a back cover because I’d totally over looked that.

Not too shabby. The whole thing looks really nice! I think people will be very happy with the artwork.

Then I crunched it through to at least start getting a handle on the size and cost of the final product. I don’t think we’re gonna sell too many of these. It costs me $34.00 to get one hard cover to my door, so I ended up charging $37.95 for the signed hard covers. I make $3.95 on each book but I have to get it, sign it, take it to the post office and send it out again so $3.95 ain’t all that much but I’ll take it. I ended up having to charge $28.95 for the signed paperbacks. It costs me almost $25.00 to get one to my door, so again, I’m making $3.95 on each sale. The prices are prohibitive so I suspect most people will sit and wait until ebooks release. As soon as this is nicely polished…yeah and finished!…I’ll sell ebooks through my site only for a while. Then I’ll probably end up making it a Kindle Exclusive around the first of the year. Not my favorite thing to do but sales were awesome when I tried it earlier this year.

Anyway, if you’re interested in ordering a signed hard cover click here. If you’re interested in ordering a signed paperback click here

I was absolutely exhausted by the time I plopped into bed. I went to sleep feeling we had accomplished something, we’re bringing it all together, even if there still are 77 pages to go, we’re getting there. I’d like to be THERE but not yet. I woke up this morning and checked my email….my friend sent back the file!!! She finished editing the first 3/4 of the book! YES! I love you FAB!!!!!! That started my day off right, it surely did! Now I know that at least the first 3/4 of it will be nicely polished and shiny. That’s good.🙂

I should be set to actually place the first orders ON Halloween just as I wanted. Even better…we’re gonna have a hurricane. Yeah, we are….for Halloween! I don’t know about you but I’m taking that as a mighty good sign.

All preliminary feedback has been outstanding. I’m so thrilled with it, I can’t even tell you. I was absolutely positive this thing made no sense and was pure shit. But…maybe not! Woot!

We’re getting there, we’re getting there, we’re getting there. I can’t believe we’re actually getting there!

Off to work and write in between. I can’t wait to see where this story ends. It’s always as much of a surprise to me as it is to the reader.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 25/10/2012, in The Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. can’t wait for the complete finished book now🙂 (glad to hear the first edit is back too and i’m not reading the snippets here, want to keep a clear mind for it all hihi)

Tell Me What You Think

