An Open Letter to Linda McMahon


Dear Mrs. McMahon:

Before I begin, I want you to know that I loved wrestling. I did. I adored the WWWF and the WWF in my younger days. For quite a while there, Saturday afternoons were blocked off so my husband and I could watch entertainment personalities such as; Rowdy Roddy Piper, Hulk Hogan, Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka, The Tonga Kid, Ravishing Rick Rude, Randy “Macho Man” Savage, Andre the Giant, Sgt. Slaughter, Bam-Bam Bigelow, and The Iron Sheik. Just to name a few. I do not hold anything that either of those organizations did “on stage/in the ring” against them, you, or your family. I always knew wrestling was ‘fake’ and was very happy when you and your husband finally came out and said this was true. Because I always thought of it as ‘show’ or a ‘production’ I loved it. It had everything; action, drama, angst, melodramatic story lines, and of course, big beefy guys in little clothing duking it out. Gotta love half-naked big beefy guys covered in oil.

When its comes to Connecticut’s Senate Seats I am not your fan and I never will be. I did not vote for you…twice. For honesty’s sake, let’s be clear here I am no big fan of Chris Murphy either. I do, however, adore Richard Blumenthal and if he runs again he already has my vote.

The main reason I chose not to vote for you…twice is simple; Like many others I felt you were trying to ‘buy’ me, dazzle me with your cash and flash thereby shoving yourself into my face at every single possible turn 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, for months on end. I also felt you were insincere. Very insincere. The more you tried to portray yourself as being sincere the worse it became. If I could have you in front of me right now I would ask you only one question; Why would you spend nearly 100 million dollars to obtain a $174,000/year job?

If you’re out there the floor is yours Mrs. McMahon. We’re all ears here.

I’m blown by that statistic alone. Nobody spends that kind of cash without believing there will be a heavy return on their investment. Just look at Kim Kardashian’s last wedding. They MADE nearly 4 million dollars on that whole fiasco. So, what were you going to make? What were you really after?

The tax breaks, huh? That’s my guess. I’m given to understand that the WWE, under Federal Law, is a “small business” and you, as the “small business” woman I kept hearing about, were wanting to give big tax breaks to “small businesses” like your own. In fact, I’m given to understand that you wanted to ‘broaden the definition’ of “small business” and ensure that tax cuts/breaks/credits/other bullshit were given to those at the ‘very top’ of “small business”.

Once again, Mrs. McMahon, if you’re out there the floor is yours. I’m listening.

Personally, I am beginning to believe that perhaps it’s time to narrow the federal/state definitions of “small business”. When most of us Average Joe’s hear that term, “small business” and things like “the folks on Main Street” we think of exactly that; the few local/shops/restaurants/other businesses that we have remaining in our downtowns. I do not think the majority of Average Joe’s thinks; WWE when they think “small business”.

Another thing I did not care for was your constant hounding and attacking of Chris Murphy for being taken to court over missing some mortgage payments when you proudly proclaim that you and your husband ‘declared bankruptcy’. Pot…Kettle…Black. Let’s not forget that you and your husband did not fully pay back your creditors after declaring bankruptcy although you are obviously more than capable of doing so. Why is it you failed to mention that you declared bankruptcy because you and your husband inherited an already successful business from Vincent McMahon, Sr. then you drove it into the ground? I can see why you don’t shine any light on the sex and steroid scandal of the 80s, who’d want to do that? Then there’s poor Owen Hart and Chris Benoit, his wife and his son, but I digress.

I didn’t really care for your whole I’m-A-Woman-Thing. You thought Chris Murphy couldn’t ‘fight’ against that simply because he’s a man. You were wrong. Personally, I thought that whole thing was insulting to women everywhere and belittling as well. Just because you are a woman doesn’t make you PRO woman. Most of us Average Janes understand that one as the Republican and the Tea Parties are riddled with women who shout at the top of their lungs how they’d like to take away my ‘female rights’.

And as for the whole thing with people stating they were voting for and Obama; for the love of the gods stick with people from your own party. I find it most disrespectful when people do things like that. If you don’t have someone on your side that you can hold up as a good example then don’t hold anyone up. Please stop mentioning John F. Kennedy. You madam are no John Kennedy.

Yes, your party. That’s the Republicans. Say it loud and say proud. Don’t stand on my TV telling me you’re a ‘independent thinker’ and I can vote for you on the Independent Line if you’re not actually the Independent Candidate. Perhaps you know who instituted that ridiculous rule? If so, I’d appreciate it if you’d share the information so I can write one of these letters to them.

In closing, I heard you’ve said you won’t run again and if that’s true then I’d like to thank you from the bottom of my heart. Your kindness and consideration when it comes to no longer wasting the time and taxing the patience of the Citizens of Connecticut is very much appreciated.

Warmest Regards,
Lisa Beth Darling

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 07/11/2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yeah, Lis, I agree with you. But I will always maintain she couldve been having any capaign, said anything, had any platform, and she wouldve never gotten elected. The WWE may not matter to YOU or ME, but to the “Average Loe” it means alot. As long as shes got that on her back, noones gonne trust her to run more than a PTA meeting. Heh. But yeah, lets just hope she goes back to work in Stamford and leaves the politics to the ones who havew half a chance.

    R

  2. Fred the Wolf

    good letter Sis.

  3. Q 1: Candidly, I’m embarrassed to ask certain basic questions. I am in my 70s, and I don’t like feeling patronized every time I ask questions about my finances. I am a bright and capable woman, and we always lived very comfortably. My husband is dealing with a severe illness, but we are still hoping for the best. I’ve been told I have nothing to worry about financially, which makes me worry all the more, particularly about the future. I don’t want to wake up one morning and suddenly be a burden to my daughter in any way. Any words of wisdom you can share?

    (The URL left by this poster has been removed by the blog owner. The post above has not been changed in any manner whatsoever.)

Tell Me What You Think

