Awesome Friends


Can’t live without ’em! Even when they’re just about 2000 miles away!

I’ve been wrestling with this damn book. It’s REALLY got me down. Very very LOW. I thought I’d never finish it. It just keeps getting bigger and bigger.

Oh bother.

My friend, FAB, reads my blog and she’s been kind enough to proofread/edit “Rising Son” for me, she’s a glutton for punishment cuz she did “A God is Born” too…LOL. She sent me back Ch. 35 all nicely polished. She read my blog, she sent me her copy of Ch. 34 with a little; Why didn’t you say something? in the email. I didn’t wanna bug her that’s why I didn’t say anything. What would that email look like anyway?

Ahhh, hey, FAB….hummmm….instead of copy/paste I did cut/paste when I sent you Ch. 34, any chance you still have a copy of it? Cuz, I’m an idiot.๐Ÿ™‚

Then she sent me another email. This is highly unusual for her, she’s a lot like me in that respect I think. One, maybe two emails a day is enough, other than that you run the risk of bothering someone. The title of the 3rd email was; A Suggestion?

Aunty Moon’s Suggestion Box is always open. She hardly ever makes suggestions and when she does they’re usually pretty darn good.

I opened the email…as I was dreading opening the file and making the story even LONGER…and…Ephipany! She said an idea that was so strong it wouldn’t leave her alone and the idea was; Why don’t you cut the story off at Chapter X? Then she went on to explain why and I was trembling as I read the email.

FAB…you’re a GENIUS!

Often times I can’t See the Forest for the Trees and it takes a really good friend like that to take me by the hand, look me in the eyes and gently say; Ah, Lis, I think the path ended about a mile back. Why don’t you have a look, back that way, and tell me what you think.

LOL

8 chapters ago!

I grabbed the chapters in question and dropped them into the mock-up file….151,217 words and 487 formatted pages!

Tipped just over the Almighty 150,000 words AND have story I can’t proudly offer in hard cover and paperback. No one will be ‘overpaying’ in my eyes. I’m taking it over RIGHT NOW and running it through!

Do you know what this means? I’m 8 chapters into “Kingdoms of War” and I didn’t even know it! I’m not behind I’m ahead! hahahahaha

I’ll grind it through for hard cover, paperback, and e-book then email all of the reviewers who wanted it. I’ll send them the ebooks…today!

Alright…now…maybe I’m ready to tackle the holidays and stay in a festive mood.๐Ÿ™‚

WOOOOOT! WOOT!

Thanks, FAB…you’re the greatest!

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 13/11/2012, in Child of War, The Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. that’s awesome! and you you were a bit silly with the lost chapter. i still have all mails with attachments from waaaay back๐Ÿ˜‰ saved me a couple of times, they’re all in neat folders. same as for the other beta stuff i read for others.
    i’m quite happy you found a perfect match with Fab and this part of the story is now cruising along nicely and soon will be available.
    all is back on track now with even a bit of time spare for the next now.

  2. Nicole Jones

    I cannot wait! Imma need the link again so I can buy two copies please and thank you!

  3. Kristina Haecker

    Yay! Congrats, Lisa!๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to read it!

    I still have my emails from you, too. I couldn’t bear to part with them. Hehe. Glad you and FAB are such a great team!

Tell Me What You Think

