The Layout


So “Women of War” is underway and I guess we should discuss a few things for those who aren’t getting where we’re going with this whole thing. And for those who are upset that Ares is fucking someone else.

That one always gets me. Grabs me by the throat while it gives a good knee to the gut. I never understand why people get upset over it. Oh, ok, fine, I understand…in the modern sense…but still, it’s annoying. I try very hard to keep those people’s delicate sensibilities in mind as we write what we’re writing and find ways to soften things that I would normally keep a very sharp edge on.

The little snippet I posted yesterday takes place in the very first chapter of “Women of War” and it takes place in 1650, some 450 years BEFORE Ares even meets Alena. She hasn’t even been born yet! Everybody feel better now?😉

This longish short story will fill everybody in on Alena’s lines. You’ll all finally find out how Ares discovered the whereabouts of the Dark Kingdom, what happened there, and why he didn’t tell the other Olympians he’d found it. You’ll all get to know the much talked about but never seen Shar Draíocht, Queen of the Dark Kingdom. You’ll read about her daughter, Morrowind, and her daughter, Maven, and her daughter, Magdalena MacLeod. Many secrets will be revealed and lead us back to the main story with the next novel “Kingdoms of War”.

If we do it right it should all fit together very nicely and make a full picture when it’s done.

So far, the good–and bad–thing about “Women of War” is Ares really gets let off the chain. In fact, I didn’t unhook it, he snapped the fucker on his own. I didn’t try to hard to hold him back because he’s only going to be in the first 3 to 4 chapters then he’ll make a ‘guest appearance’ right at the very end. It’ll be an adventure, writing a story that, for the most part, doesn’t have him in it.

While hubby and Becca were out I just got cozy behind the keyboard and let it all fly. I just wrote for the sheer joy of doing it. No deadlines. No rules. Just me and the Big Guy cruising through The Zone at top speed. It was wonderful!!! We haven’t done that in such a long time I’d nearly forgotten why I started doing this and just how much fun it’s all supposed to be. How thrilling and freeing it is.

We’re writing and we’re researching because we were going to open the story with the big battle scene at Dunbar but instead we opened on the night before with the English preparing their attack. Ares, of course is on the side of the English as he hates the Scots. We get back into Dunbar Castle and he’s pacing around his room drinking and….oh, crap I know where this is going.

We have to re-establish ME.

Yeah, I knew it. Let me guess, the younger more savage more virile YOU before Alena came along and tamed all of that, yeah?

Exactly. I knew I picked you for a reason.

Ok, hit me. Let’s go.

I never should have let him or my hubby watch Beowulf. There’s that one freakin’ line that they both ADORE and it’s something about a guy having gone ‘5 days without sex’ and he says; “My loins are bursting!” Ares only got one love scene in “Rising Son”, it’s good but, well…his loins were bursting. So…

So in the story he opens the door to his chamber, stick his head out and shouts to a guard; “Bring me a bitch!” Slams the door opens it, (I giggled) and he demands; “Make it two!”

Here we go.

Hold on tight, it’s gonna be a bumpy night.

Yep, good thing I have my supplies and an empty house.

He’s rockin’ and rollin’ right along ideas and snapshots are flashing in my head and my fingers are FLYING over the keyboard and…

NO! Wait! Hold on, buddy, just one second. We’ve spent 4 books establishing, pounding into people’s heads with a mallet, that you do NOT do one thing. You’re not gonna blow that all to shit on me here. No way.

Oh ye of little faith…just keep writing!

I stopped for a few minutes, it’s bad enough we have sisters here. I balked at that considering I’ve still got scars from my old DOTG days. BUT, so far, we’ve gotten away with the dreaded ‘incest thing’ very well with the OF WAR Series. The people reading it seem to understand historical facts so, yeah for them! Woot! Woot!

The sisters stay

Duh, like I couldn’t tell that when we wrote: . “Sisters,” he remarked as his full lips turned into a sly smirk and his drew in breath over his sharp teeth. “How nice…for me.”

Yeah, and, my dear, what did I say after that?

Check the story; He whispered as he stopped in front of what he believed to be the younger of the two. She didn’t look at him so Ares grabbed her jaw and forced her head upward to meet his cold stare. “A little cooperation and I guarantee you’ll enjoy the rest of the night.” His smile widened when he felt her tremble and saw her pretty eyes dart away from him.

So?

Oh, all right, you sly devil, let’s get a little cooperation going!

There’s my girl

After that I didn’t once try to get him back on the broken chain. Oh! Did we have FUN or WHAT? Hot stuff. Love it! In the end, a truly wonderful night was had by all. That includes ME! Yeah, last night was very very good.😉

Now it’s on to the battle. I read all about it. Strange, The Battle of Dunbar was just another historical reference in my family tree, one that I’d poked at a but never really researched until yesterday. I always heard it was pretty much a one-sided massacre so this will be bloody. Hopefully it doesn’t last too long, you know I don’t like writing battle scenes and I don’t think I’m very good at them but when you write with the God of War you just have to suck it up some times.

Then he’ll discover the Dark Kingdom, we’ve already picked out a very nice location near Dunbar. We were going to the Isle of Skye–I use it in most of my stories at some point or another–but I felt the trip was ‘too long’ and there are some nice small islands off the coast of Dunbar. We’re going with one of those.

Off to spruce up what we wrote yesterday and then onto….BATTLE!

Wish me luck!

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 02/12/2012, in conversations with the big guy, The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. sounds like we are in for one hell of a treat, or rather story. just the way how you talk about it just makes it special. you’ll fly through it with ease if this keeps up!!
    the title gave it away for me that this was about the alena’s line so reading the snippet didn’t upset me, i kinda figured out this was set a loooooong time before alena washed up on his shores.
    tiptoes impatiently now

    • LOL! Hopefully you’re right and this won’t take long. I’m not giving myself a deadline or putting any pressure on to do it quickly. I really had forgotten how great it felt just to sit here and write.🙂

  2. https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQXwWtJij8R1mzWTaRO39LH7YerrVH3AK4uugLLAO7FTPD0J_oe
    sorry you have to copy/paste the link but this is how i see the big guy lounging behind you, telling you what he wants and demanding he gets it😉 you’ll get it done, no question about it

  3. Fred the Wolf

    and sis goes fap fap type type fap fab LOL

Tell Me What You Think

