Tonight’s the Night


Yep, P&Z Meeting. Should be interesting.πŸ˜‰

The post on my sidewalk is still getting hits. I got more responses on The Patch than I ever dreamed possible. Really, all I wanted to do was show them my sidewalk, that’s it. I’m pretty sure they have voted mine Worst Sidewalk in New London. hahaha I’ve had offers of assistance with the upcoming blizzard, people are willing to come help me shovel the damn thing and they all agree it’s a disgrace. One person said something along the lines of ‘be patient’ and ‘things take time’. I reminded them I’ve waited 50 years for this stupid thing, how much more patient should I be?

Jerks.

I did something a little offbeat yesterday. (Me? No! LOL) I signed up with PayPal for a credit card reader. I downloaded the app and was approved. I can take credit cards right now…ON MY PHONE…(weird!) but punching in the numbers causes a slightly higher fee. I figured it would be a good thing to have should I ever invest in going to a book fair or something like that. Maybe even if I’m just out and about and someone wants to buy a book. I do have my site on my phone, of course. I could sell them a paperback, hard cover, or bit of swag on the spot and handle to shipping and ordering the same old way. I’m trying to figure a way to get it to work with ebooks but I don’t know how to download a file to the phone and then attach that file to an email. Still figuring that out. But, what the hell? The app is free the processing fee is 2.7%–which I think is normal for PayPal–so it could come in handy. The card swiper/reader thing should be here by Wednesday. Can’t wait to try it out and play with it a bit.

Looks like I’m going to be getting into the Monte Cristo Bookshop downtown. I have to get 3 copies each of “Heart”, “Child”, and “Rising Son” to take down there. I should do “Women” too, huh? Probably. I can order those next week and have them down there by the end of the month. I’ll be in a real brick and mortar bookstore. How cool is that?πŸ™‚

We have big snow coming. I went to bed last night and the weatherman said ‘3-7 inches’. I got up this morning and the weatherman said…..’1 to 2 FEET’…holy crap! I haven’t seen snow like that in a long time. It’s supposed to move in overnight or during the early morning hours. Of course we don’t have much oil. I can get it next week but not this week. Hubby brought home 5 gallons of diesel yesterday and he’ll bring another 5 gallons tonight so we won’t freeze to death during the blizzard. I’ll run my butt to the grocery store right after work and then….I’m not going anywhere until Monday. Work is already off the radar for tomorrow, I am not making any plans to be at desk on Friday.

But first we have to get through tonight and see if we can make P&Z and L&M see a little reason. Not an easy task. I’m not putting much stock in being able to accomplish it but at least we’ll go and we’ll try and we won’t sit on the sidelines while they steamroll over us. It’s more than a lot of other people are willing to do these days.

Off to work and wait to hit the grocery store. If you don’t hear from me for a few days after tomorrow…come dig me out!

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 07/02/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

