Lost My Cuppa Jo’


WTF?

Seriously?

Dunkin’ Brands Lobbying Against Key Obamacare Provision

I’m getting sick of this. I really am. I don’t know about you but I’m about ready to puke.

Here goes another company added to my List of Places That Do NOT Get MY Money. Again, it’s a company I happen to love and now must sacrifice and do without in order to maintain my personal dignity and principles. (Yes, those things still matter to me. Your mileage may vary.) On that personal note, Dunkin’ Donuts started going downhill a long time ago. I should know, I used to work there…some 30 years ago! When the “It’s Time To Make the Donuts Guy” wasn’t lying! When the donuts were actually made at the store where you bought them. Now, here in CT, they’re shipped in twice daily from some place in Rhode Island and…it shows. I’ve done my best not to buy donuts there for some years, but once in a while, I can’t help it. The sandwiches are still good. The coffee at the Dunkin’ Donuts at the top of my street is the WORST. I never get a cup of coffee up there. I do, however, frequently buy a BAG of coffee from that particular Dunkin’ Donuts.

Not anymore.

No more bags of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. I’ll have to trek my ass out to Stop & Shop to get a can of coffee whenever necessary. That happens to be quite often in my house. I buy AT LEAST a bag a week at the Dunkin’ Donuts at the top of my street.

Do you know the really sad/pathetic thing? This could ALL be AVOIDED if companies such as Dunkin’ Donuts and WalMart and Applebee’s and Olive Garden and Domino’s and Papa Johns would just STOP hiring ONLY part-time employees. I will never understand the reasoning of hiring 40 part-time employees when 20 full-time employees would do the job just as well…other than to get out of having to provide benefits such as healthcare to begin with. I mean…WTF? Can anyone out there say these companies would truly SUFFER if they were to act correctly on their own? In places such as the above, part-time employees were used to cover ‘swing time’, you know the time between say noon and six. When first shift would be leaving, business might be picking up due to the lunch hour, and as second shift comes in. That way there were employees on the floor who knew what had gone on and what needed doing when the shift change occurred. Things ran smoother for employees and customers.

Not anymore. Now if you go into any of those outlets you’re going to get a person who either just came on and ‘doesn’t know anything’ or who is just going off and doesn’t give a shit. Who can blame them? Their job pays crap and they don’t get any benefits. Customer Service suffers under such conditions and so does Quality Control.

If they just went back to the customary way of doing business…you know, those small things that used to simply be considered ‘Good Business Practices’…we’d all win. Employees would have bigger paychecks and be better able to spend them. Employees wouldn’t have to worry so much about their medical care or taking a day off if they get a cold. Employers get happier more productive employees and, since they’re in better health, less sick days! It really IS a Win-Win for ALL concerned.

Oh, scratch that, it’s *so much* of a Win-Win for shareholders. You know, those people who truly DO NOTHING AND WANT TO GET PAID FOR IT! Their dividend checks might be slightly lowered. Bummer. In the end, I’m fairly certain the Big Picture will bear out the benefit to Society as a whole.

In the meantime, it seems no one will be happy until I sell my house. I’ll have to wait until mid-spring to summer to do it, of course, that way most potential buyers won’t notice the horrid new parking lot! I’ll schuck it off on some unsuspecting schulb, move out of the City of New London and deep into ‘the country’. There I will raise my own livestock (six chickens just won’t do under these circumstances, I’m afraid), milk my own cows, collect my own eggs, sheer my own sheep, spin my own yard, slaughter my chickens and a cow or two a year, learn to tan leather, grow my own organic vegetables and fruits, and drill a well for drinking water.

Wow. I KNEW ‘they’ were trying to create a Caste of Drones but I didn’t realize they really wanted ‘us’ to step backward some 200-300 years so they can keep their yachts.

Doesn’t seem quite fair.

Does it?

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 21/02/2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

