Lawrence & Memorial Hospital-The Parking Lot


web statistics

I named the post what I did so that the ‘good neighbors’ at Lawrence & Memorial Hospital here in New London, CT can find this post easily. After all, they’ve been poking around right here on Ye Olde Blog waiting for me to bitch about the lights.

Sorry boys, I’ve been a little busy but yes I have noticed the parking lot lights on well past 6:30 pm. In fact, I believe they’re on until around 10pm with no reason whatsoever other for you to see what you get away with and just how far you can push your ‘good neighbors’ before they push back.

Gee, kinda reminds me of another office I know.πŸ˜‰

The parking lot opened yesterday. It was full of cars. No problem. Who cares? That’s what it’s there for, right? By 6:30pm it was empty. No cars. Lights? Still on. Quite frankly, at this time of year, there’s no reason for those lights to be on at all from 6am to 6:30pm. None. The streetlights aren’t even on. So, yeah, they only reason I can think of is they enjoy being pissy little brats. My neighbor called the hospital and complained about it last night. I’ll do it tonight if they’re on when I look outside. Which, by the way, I don’t do that much of anymore because they haven’t done a damn thing to landscape that lot yet. Nope. It’s still a big eye-sore bringing down my property values and the property values of everyone else who has to stare at it 24/7. Every time I walk out on to my deck I want to cry over what I’ve lost. What was so ruthlessly and unceremoniously ripped away from me and my truly Good Neighbors. Of course, Lawrence and Memorial Hospital doesn’t care about that. They’re too busy making land grabs between the new cancer center, purchasing Westerly Hospital, laying off employees, and overhauling a building L&M purchased downtown taking yet another piece of real estate off New London’s tax rolls. All while, according to the hush-hush buzz on the street, getting ready to sell itself to Yale New Haven Hospital. How true that is, I don’t know, but it wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest to know L&M has done all of this in anticipation of just such a sale/merger/screw-job.

Even if L&M doesn’t care, the City of New London should. I know the City doesn’t actually care about its citizens but it should care about property values. I mean New London is only somewhere around 50% NON-taxable so anything that screws with the values of the other 50% should be a major concern to the City of New London.

I know, I know, if that were true I’d have a new sidewalk and the Patch Truck would have shown up by now to fix that crater at the end of my driveway.

I admit, I was thinking of other things on my way home yesterday but today I’ll pay close attention and see if I can tell if the new parking lot is doing anything to alleviate the congestion along Ocean Avenue. Those people were complaining about that for ages but nowhere near as long as this little part of town has had to put up with stuff like that. I feel for those people but probably not quite as much as I should.πŸ˜‰

If those lights are on at 6:31pm this evening I’ll be calling the hospital, the police department and P&Z to let them know. I encourage all of my Good Neighbors to do the same.

As Tina Turner once said; “Bust a Deal and Face the Wheel”.

I hoping it comes up ‘Aunty’s Choice’πŸ™‚

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 30/04/2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Tell Me What You Think

