This n That


web statistics

That feeling had been dissipating as the leaves unfolded on the trees and began camouflaging the parking lot. Not to any great extent but enough to make it sorta blurry at least. Yesterday L&M decided to plant trees along the border that faces my backyard.

Don’t get excited.

They’re a wee bit too far apart. They’re not evergreens. So they’ll do a half-assed job 4-8 months out of the year. Don’t you love it? That place will charge you a couple grand a day to stay there but they can’t pony up enough cash to properly disguise that huge hunk of crap. Weird, huh? Oh well, at least they haven’t turned those darn lights on again. BUT they do shuttle people to and from the lot. I have got to take the camera, set it to video, and walk this long arduous journey for you one day. Should take, I dunno, 2.5 minutes if we don’t stop for coffee at Dunkin’ Donuts on our way. I mean, you can SEE the hospital from the lot. Big and plain as day…there it is. You don’t even need directions.

Yep, that’s L&M so fiscally responsible. It’s not like we’re in the middle of downtown here either. This part of the City of New London is about as safe as it gets in the City of New London. I certainly don’t have any qualms about walking that short walk at any hour of the day or night.

Whatever. Jerks. I think I’ll still look into that signage. Nice pretty woodland scene on my side. Big day-glo wording on the side that faces the lot.

Anyway….another strange thing has been happening. This one for a while. Several times a day my virus protection pops up to tell me that a ‘denial of service has been logged’. Sometimes the frickin’ thing kicks me offline for 10 minutes. Yep, just freezes everyone out including me. For months I thought it was telling me it was catching a virus and blocking it. Every time it popped up I updated the software and every time there WAS an update even if there had only been 15 minutes in between incidents. I told about hubby about it one night and he explained it wasn’t a virus but someone trying to get into my computer and the software was letting me know they’d been blocked.

Weird.

It’s not like I have anything of any importance on Ye Olde Computer except…

Ahhh, your books?

Yeah them!

Other than, hubby explained about hackers and people pinging off one computer to use another and e-bombing people and crap like that.

After the hard drive crashed that stopped for a day or two and I thought that was great. Then it started again and I paid closer attention. It was always the same ISP address trying to get in. Always. Today I wrote it down and went to check it out.

It’s MetroCast! Yeah, my Internet provider is trying to access my computer???? Why? They do it upwards of ten times per day. Sometimes 3 or 4 times in an HOUR. WTF? I dunno but I’m glad my software is catching them and ushering them in the other direction. At least I know who it is. It’s not someone trying to steal my books or use me to, I dunno, hack the government or something. It’s just my dumb cable company.

Maybe I should call them and ask them what they’re looking for?

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 05/05/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i’d call and ask for an explanation for sure… they have no case trying to access your computer! at least you’re safe enough to blocked them each and every time they try. i’d consider looking into this and be prepared, would even look into legal steps (as back up plan) if they try and tell you some kind of bullshit. so you know what your rights are and can demand to know what the hell they are doing trying to break into your computer

Tell Me What You Think

