The Movie Junkie Strikes Again


web statistics

Yep, it’s going to be a chilly/rainy Memorial Day Weekend. BBQ Plans are not in sight. I posted on my FB page yesterday asking friends what they thought a good movie would be for a rainy night. I received several answers all of them good but none of them what I was looking for. Hubby said; “Let’s get a new movie.”

Don’t have to tell me twice! LOL

We went to FYE instead of Best Buy which is rapidly falling out of favor with me. I hardly ever go to Best Bud anymore, kinda sad. We rummaged through the $3.00 bin and came back with some true crap! We didn’t get any of it. The $5.00 bins held a few goodies. The New Releases were on deep discount. The Used Movies were buy 2 get on 1 free. They have a HUGE selection of Used Movies.

Oh Happy Day!

We went with the intention of getting “Jack Reacher” which we did buy but haven’t watched yet. Tom Cruise is a guilty pleasure of mine. I don’t swoon over him but there is something about him that’s very pleasant. I like him best before he had his teeth ‘fixed’ but…oh well.

Another guilty pleasure of mine is Arnie. I love Arnie. I love all of Arnie’s movies no matter how bad.๐Ÿ™‚ I couldn’t resist picking up “The Last Stand”. More on that in a bit.

Hubby reached into the $5.00 bin and came back with “Full Metal Jacket”. I hate that movie. I will not subject myself to it, “Platoon”, “Hamburger Hill”, “Pork Chop Ridge—“oh no, wait, that’s “Heartbreak Ridge”, and/or “Apocalypse Now” ever again.

But I figured it allowed me to pick up a horror flick so into my arms it went. Then he picked up “X-Men First Class” and I thought; Awwww, shit. But, it allowed me to pick up another horror flick so into my arms it went. More on that one in a bit.

I wandered down the aisles of Used Movies lost in the Horror Department trying desperately to find something GOOD. It’s so hard! BUT someone managed to lose my “1408” so I picked up the Collector’s Edition for $4.00! I wanted to replace my “Cujo” but they didn’t have one. I found “Riding the Bullet” which was a really good story. It got my interest as I read Stephen King’s review of it and he raved it was the best Indie Flick made from one of his stories since “Stand By Me”. $5.00. I put it in the stack and looked for “The Woman in Black”. I’ve wanted to see this for a long time but haven’t managed it. Even used it was $9.99, after all this time. I hemmed and hawed but figured, since it was STILL $9.99 even used it must be good. So….into the stack it went.

We hit JR’s Shack on the way home for dinner and then snuggled up in bed with huge cups of coffee and slices of pie to watch our movies.

THE LAST STAND–was up first. Couldn’t help it. Needed a dose of ‘the good old days’. Arnie’s getting old on me but, believe it or not, he’s still Arnie and can believably kick ass. I loved it. I was truly surprised by how good it was I expected it to be absolutely dreadful but it isn’t. Admittedly, Hollywood built Arnie up a little bit with this cast, perhaps they thought he couldn’t carry a flick on his own anymore but I think he can. Forrest Whitaker didn’t hurt, I like him, I think he’s adorable. Luis Guzman, I like him too, very funny fellow. The ‘Russian’ guy from “Armageddon” was in it and I always like him. The chick from “Thor” rounded everything out nicely…..oh yeah and Johnny Knoxville too. The show stealer was this

the-last-stand-corvette-e1358894425753

Meet the Corvette Stingray 01….and I wants it, Precious…I wants it!๐Ÿ˜‰ Made me all tingly it did…woot-woot! The bad guy driving it wasn’t hard to look at either. hehehe

As bigger budget action flicks go, this is a really great way to kill two hours. I’m glad we own it and I’m sure it will entertain us for many nights and weekends to come. If you have any love for Arnie movies…get it. You won’t be disappointed. In fact, I think you’ll be as happily surprised as I was. Aunty Moon give it a B+.

X-MEN FIRST CLASS–was our last flick for the night. I like the “X-Men” movies but I tend not to like ‘prequels’ and I have hard time adjusting to new casts in favorite old characters. So, needless to say, I didn’t really want to watch this movie. At all. As the movie unfolded and ‘Charles Xavier’ and ‘Erik Lensherr’ became ‘Professor Xavier’ and ‘Magneto’ and the actors who would take over the rest of the movie took over the rest of the movie I recognized them. That always helps me adjust to these new things. While I didn’t like “Wanted” very much–it has Angelina Jolie and I hate that bitch, she stole Brad Pitt! LOL–the kid in it was ok. He’s ‘Professor X’. But it’s ‘Magneto’ that caught my eye. I liked him in “Inglorious Basterds” (he stole the show from Brad) and again in “Prometheus”. He’s not my usual cup of tea but this guy is really growing on me in a big way. I think he calls to the German in me. I hope to see a lot more of him in the future. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Again, I was pleasantly surprised. I figured the movie would suck but it doesn’t. Kevin Bacon is awesome! I like Bacon he comes from ‘back in the day’ along with Robert Downey, Jr., Charlie Sheen, Val Kilmer, and a whole bunch of others. The flick was definitely worth the $10.00 price of admission and then some. I’m sure this another movie that will entertain us for many nights to come and will go well with our X-Men Marathons. Looking forward to the next “Wolverine” flick…Hugh Jackman is so damn yummy in that part. YUM-EEE, I say! If you’re an “X-Men” fan, you’ll want to pick up this one. Good stuff and it answers lots of questions that those of us who never got into the comic books may have had. Aunty Moon gives it a B+. If ‘Magneto’ took off his shirt it might have gotten a A. ;P

Now it’s time to crack the file and see what’s up with Raven and the Gang. Later we’ll watch “Jack Reacher” and I’ll report back on it. Maybe tomorrow, if it rains hard, hubby will watch “Full Metal Jacket” in the living room while I curl up with two new horror flicks. I’m really hoping for good things where “The Woman in Black” is concerned. That ‘Harry Potter’ is growing into a handsome man. Makes me feel like a Dirty Old Lady but…whatever. hahaha

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 25/05/2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hugh….. there is one specimen…. i’ve seen him train for this movie. he looks mighty damn fine *whistles* i like him in australia too with nicole kidman. well just about anymovie where he strips off his clothes!! haha we’re so easy!
    but with hugh it’s different, he stays so down to eart, friendly and nice to everybody. there are probably others too but hugh yeah he’s got a special spot with me.

    jack reacher the movie, hell to the no that i’m ever seeing that movie. not with tom playing jack. hubbie read all the bookd and even he was appaled at the choice of who to play jack. in the books he’s a mountain of a man ร  la goldberg, the wrestler and then they bring in small tom. it just doesn’t add up. but that is my two cents๐Ÿ˜‰ feel free to disagree. however i’m curious at tom’s new movie oblivion, trailer at the movies looked pretty decent.

    oh and went to iron man 3!!! loved it!! pepper in the end, priceless how she kicks ass.like the humor throughout the movie, how at dire times he can bring that in so casually without it feeling too much or too cliche.

Tell Me What You Think

