La Machine


We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, –That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. The Declaration of Independence

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin

I’m breaking my recently instituted rule on politics in the blog. I know, we’ve touched on a few whackier and less meaningful things since then but nothing like this.

Let’s just start with; Who thinks it’s time to get rid of the government?

Just raise you hand in front of your monitor you don’t have to say anything out loud and you probably shouldn’t under the present circumstances.

One more question, same rules; Who thinks we’re much safer now than we were on September 11, 2001?

I don’t think one can honestly say ‘yes’ to both of those questions and if you can then I’d appreciate it if you’d shoot me a private email or, well, ok, maybe you should send me a written letter to my address cuz I’m given to understand the government may still need a warrant to search my US Postal Mail…since I’m not in prison and all, that is. They have much easier access to email records, phone records, and Internet records–yeah, you will NEVER find me in ‘the cloud’…ever.

OK, so, in case you’re completely lost here we have confirmation that Big Brother is Watching and Listening and Reading and Recording…YOU.

Oh you didn’t do anything wrong? Oh, well, who gives a shit about that? You MIGHT do something wrong some day and the government needs to be prepared to stop you.

Yeah….anybody see “Minority Report”? How about read/watched “1984”? “A Brave New World”? “Lord of the (fuckin’) Flies”? Or how about just plain ol’ “Person of Interest”?

If you have then by now you’re aware they are all TRUE stories. Or are about to be. If not, well check out one of ’em and catch up with the rest of Us.

This very information came the Masses via a lowly citizen. Just another one of Us. Joe Average. Bohner’s on TV right now trying to assure me that my phone calls have not been recorded, only…monitored….and only the record of the call is available to him. (Not saying anything about my texts and emails sent from the phone or posts made from the phone….hummmm….) Mr. Bohner is calling Mr. Snowden a ‘traitor’. I call him a ‘patriot’. I think the smartest thing Mr. Snowden ever did was to let the rest of Us in the secret and the second smartest thing he ever did was to plaster his name and face all over the media. Let’s face it; if he turns up dead in alley somewhere We all know whodunit.

Now you should decide for yourself whether or not you want to continue reading this post. You should probably keep in mind that I would never believe anything Bohner had to say as you make that decision.

Like it wasn’t bad enough the world has nosy employers and prospective employers who actually pay people to check YOU out on the Internet; snoop on your Facebook, your Twitter, your Pinterest and whatever posts you make on whatever boards you may frequent. You know, things that don’t have jackshit to do with them. Now the government’s in on the action only in a much bigger, better, and widespread capacity.

I tried to tell people decades ago when these cameras started popping up in weird places that this was a bad thing. Nobody cared. Then we had 9/11 and they put up more cameras and I was the ‘weird one’ because I was not in favor of things like The Patriot Act. It’s anything but patriotic. If you read it you’d know that too. They should have called it The Stalin Act. That would be have been a wee bit closer to the overall truth.

La Machine.

It exists.

It really does.

I love “Person of Interest” even though the premise scares the shit out of me. Like “Cujo” the reason the premise scares the shit out of me is because it’s well within the Realm of Possibility. Lately as I’ve watched my favorite TV shows I’ve noticed more and more bits of very unsettling technology cropping up like being able to track nearly anyone going nearly anywhere via traffic and ATM cameras. They make it look like such a good thing as they’re catching The Bad Guys but, like Eric said, “It’s In the Way That You Use It”.

You trust the government to use it correctly?

Not me.

Not now that I know Finch’s Machine is real thing. Like Finch’s Machine, there are more ‘Irrelevants’ than ‘Relevants’ in the equation but they’re not getting dumped and ignored they’re being compiled and categorized for later use.

Think about it. What kind of information is Uncle Sam compiling on YOU? Did you make an off-colored post on Facebook one day? Did you rant in a Tweet one day? Bummer for you. Even worse if you happen to be of Middle Eastern Decent and you ranted on Twitter about something then called ‘home’ to rant some more. Oh, total bummer.

How about this? How about you’re 18…right now…today. You are 18. You have an awesome bod. You post a pic of yourself–maybe in a racy little pose, hell, maybe there’s a forgotten bottle of beer somewhere in the picture with you. You put it on Facebook wherever, your friends make their silly comments, you have a good laugh and that’s it. Jump ahead 10 years and you’re 28 trying to get clearance on a government job.

Bummer.

How about this one? Instead of using the information to deny you the job over something silly you did ten years before, how about they use that same information to make you do something they want?

“Step outta line The Man come and take you a-way.”

Maybe one day They will use these blog posts against me. Maybe. Or my website. Maybe. The government does check your website! Yes, oh yes, it does! I see them come into mine often enough to be absolutely positive of that statement. Once again, you are paying people to cruise the Internet. You’ve probably been to my site; did it look like a hang out for terrorists to you?

Here’s the Big Kicker and it’s the only logical result of the above actions; The world is about to change. Not in the way the government wants/expects either. A few years down the road when we finally realize we’re ALL HUMAN, we’ve ALL made mistakes, we’ve ALL made bad calls, and not a single one of is perfect, then what is and is not Socially/Morally Acceptable is going to get blown to bits. The facade of civility that we all hide behind will be ripped away and all of the ugly little secrets of the human race put on display for optimum viewing. Some things that were once considered shocking and shameful will become common place and acceptable simply because we finally realize so many of us do them.

It’s almost fun to sit here and watching the government give birth to its nemesis; Anarchy.

Almost.

Then again, maybe I’m just paranoid..hahaha. It’s hard to tell on that one these days, isn’t it???? I have become leery of my new microwave oven. I have. I had no idea technology had advanced this far. It has sensors in it. You push a button and it determines when your popcorn, coffee/tea, TV dinner and more are ready for you. No matter the size or temperature. I wonder if every time I heat up a cup of coffee its reporting back to Uncle Sam. Perhaps one day, Bloomberg in an Uncle Sam costume will show up at my door to inform me that I drink too much coffee! He is taking it away from me, for my own good. Of course.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 11/06/2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. check for the series “person of interest”. love the show however it depicts something that imo could very well be up and running as we speak; if TV is making a series out of it that feels so fucking real who’s to claim it can’t be so?

  2. I’m with you on this. It’s so scary watching all this stuff go down.

  3. /finger the shadow rulers

Tell Me What You Think

