And There’s Winners And There’s Losers


You know you sang that line….you know you did😉

Congratulations to the 1,400 or so citizens of New London who managed to get up from their computers and go vote yesterday! Good for you!

Yes, I was one of them. I trotted right down to my polling place before work and checked off; no, no, and oh yeah….no.

Considering there’s somewhere between 23,000-27,000 people in this city 1,400 is kind of a low number, don’t you think? It always amazes me how apathetic people can be.

By a vote of 800+ to 500+ next year’s budget has been struck down.🙂

As most of you know I’m not a “Mayor Hater” and I try to stay far away from that crowd even though ultimately we have a lot of common goals but don’t like their tactics. And I think our problems are much…much…deeper than any individual or single City Council or single Board of (mis) Education. But mostly I’m just sick of my taxes going up, up, up and I keep getting nothing, nothing, nothing in return. I’m tired of watching my hard-earned money just…poof…disappear and then reappear when someone discovers its been ‘misspent’. That happens a lot so I wasn’t in to giving them anymore money. Yes, I’m very happy with the outcome of the vote but, obviously, not real happy with the number of people who were able to find their polling place yesterday.

The City will have to go back to the drawing board and try coming up with something that makes sense and takes into account that, while the economy is getting better and better every day, its citizens still aren’t millionaires. Well, ya know, most of us aren’t anyway. We do have a few. I wonder how they voted…hahaha.

We have more losers to talk about today but we’ll get to that a little later in the day maybe behind the usual password. Maybe not. I’m not into being generous on this one in the slightest so perhaps it’ll be an open post. Whichever way it goes it will concern childish behavior on FaceBook by business owners too immature to run a business properly.

Right now I gotta get to work. So busy yesterday! Oy! We’ll talk about that too a little later on.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 07/08/2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

