Sisyphus


For those of you who don’t know, Sisyphus is the guy who was sentenced to an eternity of rolling a rock up a hill and every time he came within inches of the summit would roll back to the bottom and he’d have to do it all over again.

I think that’s me. Or was me in a previous life. Or something like that.

The Promo Wheel is like that rock, I’m always grinding it, and it’s always getting me nowhere.🙂

We had a little extra money this week so I plunked down a few bucks on a ‘Facebook Boost’. I never tried it before so I thought I’d give it a shot. I ‘boosted’ two posts on my ‘fan page’ and got around 40,000….views? I dunno. I surely didn’t get 40,000 hits into my site! 23,000andchange of them were ‘views’ for OF WAR 1 & 2 which is $0.99 on Kindle.

Not one sale.

Nada.

Out of 23,000+?

Whatsupwitdat?

So while my ‘visibility’ may have been ‘boosted’ sales definitely were not. IF I try that again I’ll try to organize the ‘post’ into a mini-ad and see if that works any better. But, on the whole, it was a complete bust. I probably should have known it would be, I mean, *I* never click a FB ad so…why should I think anyone else does?

I signed up for one last blog hop today so now there’s 2 for Halloween. All 3 of those blog posts are going to be the same so don’t bother with them when the time comes unless you want a $10-$20.00 Amazon Gift Card and maybe some swag. The $20.00 card will be for The Romance Reviews hop with probably $10 or $15 apiece for the other two. I’m going to use them to advertise the goings-on on my site (contest, events, sales) rather than giving away any books. People simply love their Amazon Gift Cards and they love swag so this should work well to bring in more people and, hopefully, direct a few of them to my site.

Kindle sent me an email telling me about a new program called MatchBook. Surprisingly enough this happened to be something I was thinking about doing but couldn’t imagine trying to implement on Kindle or Nook or anywhere but my site. So I signed up all of my paperbacks for the program. When it launches, if you buy the paperback you’ll get the ebook version at a deep discount.

On my site I’ve already implemented it. If you buy any signed or unsigned paperback in the OF WAR Series you get the ebook FREE until 11/4. If you were to purchase the 4 novels from me unsigned you’d save a grand total of $37.00. That’s not bad. Not that people will see it that way. The only thing they’ll see is they’re being asked to spend money so they can get something free. Whatever. Think of it as the Blu-Ray/DVD/Digital Copy Combo Pak you can get for most new release movies these days. It’s the same concept. I’ll bet there’s a good many people out there who have bought at least one of those.

I was getting my posts ready for the hops and went back to Close Encounters with the Night Kind for something and saw a link; The Heat Diva. I clicked it. I read that Nikki had a column in BTS eMag (see my ad in this months’ edition!). I dropped her a ‘do you remember me’ email–which I REALLY hoped she would because I actually wrote “Christmas Eve on Olympus” for her site! LOL I asked about the column, would she be interested in reviewing my books or mentioning me or something…anything. She wrote back right away letting me know that I’m already going to be IN December’s issue! Woot-woot! She’s doing a Greek Mythology Theme and she loved “Christmas Eve” and the whole series! Yeah! So she’s going to pump us up a little bit just in time for the holiday and just at the end of this big promotional thing. That should be good. It was definitely a nice surprise.

Come the first of year the year I will be almost done with this stuff. I’m going to contact a few blogs/sites that I know and who know me, ask them to review “Kingdoms” and set up some dates with them. I’ll buy eMag ads with BTS and The Romance Reviews and maybe even site ads with Bitten by Paranormal Romance and Paranormal Haven and then that’s it. One very short-term announcement that the book is out, the series, Elvis has Left the Building, thankyouverymuch.

Now while there’s still time before hubby comes home and we did get a tiny bit of progress on the story…yes, it’s open already…I think we’ll push that boulder for a bit and see how far we can inch it up the damn hill.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 03/09/2013, in The Writer's Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

