Playin’ Catch-Up


Yeah, as always.πŸ™‚

Thanksgiving is just around the corner which means one of my local radio stations started played Christmas Songs 24/7 last week! Eeesh. I’ll tune back into the station around December 22nd or so. It’s bad enough the stores try to combine Halloween with Thanksgiving and even worse they start putting out Christmas stuff before they take down the Halloween stuff but does it have to take over my radio too?

Oh well.

I’ll do my Thanksgiving shopping tomorrow. Yeah, I’m late with that this year. But my employer was kind enough to give me a $50.00 gift certificate to Stop & Shop as a little bonus so that will go a long way toward buying our holiday meal. Especially this year, it’s just us. Yep, just the 5 of us. Cousin is staying in RI for Thanksgiving and we have no one else to invite. I told hubby I was just going to buy Hungry-Man dinners for everyone and heat them up.

He didn’t like the idea.πŸ™‚

So I’ll get a small turkey and some of the fixings, there’s not much sense in going full-tilt-boogie and having ALL of those leftovers. Sort of a bummer since this is my absolute favorite meal of the year. It’s the one day that no one should ever feel bad about what or how much they ate. Totally guilt free pigging out!

(Screw the Food Police)

This year I’ll just do the basics; turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes, candied sweet potatoes, rolls, cranberry sauce! jeez I always forget! I’ll make a pumpkin cake and Mrs. Smith will make some pies for me. Some type snackage for an appetizer as well, maybe stuffed clams, definitely crackers and cheese. We’ll call it done.

Of course the whole thing depends on the weather right now. The report of which is changing every time I look at it. Anyway you slice it, it’s going to get nasty for a while and it may effect travel plans. If it gets timed a little better, Friday will be a mess, maybe the office will close and I’ll get three full days of untethered writing. That would be good. I always do love to write in inclement weather; hard rain or snow, lightning and thunder are best.

I did get a nice bit of writing done over the weekend, we made a few leaps and a few discoveries. We have a solid direction which is nice. I think we’re actually going to be able to meld two huge events into the same time frame, which should be very interesting, rather than doing them separately and having to draw out the story a bit. It’ll be a lot like the chapter leading up to Raven’s birth in “A God is Born”. That’s good too from my warped view point, it’s a nice counter balance to that particular scene. I was ecstatic when I realized we would be able to do this and shorten the page count by so much, it was really starting to look like a daunting task but not so much anymore.

We’ll have to backtrack a bit and fix it up a bit. I’m positive that in the not too distant future, we’re going all the way back to the beginning to rip out the first few chapters and re-write them. That too should be interesting and save on the Almighty Word Count. But, we probably won’t be ready to pick up again until Thursday after everything’s cooking and on its own. Shop tomorrow and bake Wednesday. But that’s ok. Thanksgiving only comes once a year–well, ok, some years it comes two or three times in my house in a miniature version. I said it’s my favorite meal, didn’t I? πŸ˜‰

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 25/11/2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

