New England Writers Signing (NEWS)


counter for wordpress


October 4, 2014
Worcester, MA
12pm-4pm
Come Celebrate MY BIRTHDAY with me!
Ticket and book/swag pre-order information coming soon. More information available on the NEWS FB Page

That’s in case you missed it the above info is also right over there ———>

Ok, so, yes, I did sign up…and pay for…this event. I hemmed and hawed over it and want to thank everyone who voiced an opinion regarding my misgivings. You helped me come to this decision and I am rather excited about it. After all it is my first “public event” as an author. It may be my last too but, what the hell? With a little luck it could be the first in a string of them.

Anyhoo, I was in bed last night when I received an email asking me to fill out a doc for this event and I sighed and I put it away and I thought about it and I picked it up and I looked at it and I sighed and I put down and….well, you get my drift. Eventually I just took the plunge. I sent my money through PayPal and then filled out the doc. Then I felt horrible for spending the money and then started to panic at the idea of making the trip and being out in public and sitting at a table all by myself for four hours with not so much as a single soul walking up to say hello to me and….UGH! At that point I tried to tell myself that I was just reserving my spot. If, when the time came, I didn’t make it to the event that would be ok. It came out of my pay check anyway.

In hopes of ensuring that I do make it to the event I told hubby when he came up. I figure I spend countless nights in bars and coffee houses and at events with him as a musician and a DJ. He can spend 6 hours with me while I play Author. At least I won’t be dragging him home after 2am😉

To my utter shock he turned to me and said: “That’s great!”

Huh?

Not that he doesn’t support me in this he certainly does it was just, well, I didn’t really expect anyone who actually knows to me say ‘that’s great’. More like ‘are you outta your fuckin’ mind?’ LOL

Then he said: “We’ll rent a car. We’ll have dinner with my brother after the event and, hey, isn’t King Richard’s Faire that weekend? It’s right around your birthday, right?”

Ummmm….yeah. I guess.

I looked it up and sure enough it is.

We started making plans for a weekend. We’ll gt to NEWS and afterward I’ll be happy to go to the nearest bar and have a birthday drink with anyone who’d like to go with me. Then we’ll head toward Boston, hook up with his brother, have dinner, and make the rest of the trip to North Carver or thereabouts. We’ll stay over, we’ll go to King Richard’s Faire and then we’ll stay another night. Shhh, I haven’t told him it’s going to be a 2 night thing yet. LOL I figured, what the hell? What’s the sense in wandering around the Faire all day long just to hurry home? We’ll go there, we’ll have a ball like last time, a nice dinner at the Fireside😉 then head back to the hotel. When we’re ready we’ll meander on home on Monday. He’s got time coming to him, I, of course, do not but I don’t care either.

So…if I do end up sitting there alone with no one walking up to me for four hours…it won’t be a wash! Woot!

I’ll post information here as it becomes available and send out a mass mailing near the end of August. I’ve posted it on my website and let my friends on FB know.

Now…yes, yes, I’m painfully aware…..

Would you finish this goddamn novel….please???????

We’re inches from an ending that I find unsatisfactory but hopefully others will like it. And, hey, by the time NEWS rolls around and we’ve had a little break maybe that Alternate Ending will be done and ready for debut at the event??? Could be.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 11/07/2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

