As The Stomach Turns & A Few Movies


counter for wordpress

It’s official, I thought it was before but I guess now there’s no denying it; I can’t eat whatever I want anymore.😦

Not even my daily dose of Pepcid was enough to ward off the attack of the two foot hot dog. In the Pepcid’s defense, I think my favorite two foot hot dog place changed dog suppliers. We went out and split one on Thursday night. Not long after that it was Friday afternoon. I got up for work on Friday, I intended to go to work even though I felt like crap and ejecting the remains of the hot dog didn’t help very much. I weaved an unsteady path back to my bed, crawled in, I think at some point hubby came in and kissed me then it was 10 o’clock. I didn’t feel alive but I was awake…sorta. Not sure how awake since I found myself watching “Supernatural” …and liking it. At some point, I slithered off the bed, drew a cold bath, slithered back into bed, watched more “Supernatural” then took my bath. It raised me enough to slither down stairs lay on the couch and watch more “Supernatural”. Weird. Maybe I just didn’t have the strength to change the channel, I dunno. I do know everything ached head to toe and my tummy burned, churned, and did flip-flops while I sweat for a while. No fun. Hubby brought me lunch, I picked at the turkey grinder without much interest. He left. I went back to sleep and woke up 3 hours later when he came home for the night.

I woke up Saturday feeling much better. I kept my morning routine of pills down to the Pepcid, pro-biotics, and raspberry ketones thinking maybe the addition of the pure green coffee pills was throwing off my very hard earned and well-enjoyed daily routine. I finally got that down; eat what I want, poop every morning. To some of you that’s disgusting to me that’s heaven. So this little set-back was very unwelcome.

I did some web work on Saturday while it rained all day and made the graphics all match nice-nice. I did a lot of sitting on the couch watching hubby play “Skyrim”, I try to play but it’s a very long and involved game with that wacky view and…my ‘Y’ Axis is inherently off. It’s very difficult for me to use the controls properly although I do manage to jump in every now and then to slaughter some bad guy.🙂

Saturday afternoon I dragged myself down to Family Dollar for some waffle mix as hubby wanted waffles and I thought maybe that would be good to my still unsure tummy. Aunt Jemima this time much fluffier than the Krusteaz but not as flavorful. They cooked faster. I burned the first one, like since first using the thing. I ate a quarter of it. It was tasty but I didn’t trust my tummy. I finally relieved myself of that hot dog and went back to some web work. About 4 o’clock I became antsy, bored, and hungry, I wanted Chinese Food.

We went to FYE and looked around the crappy New Releases impatiently waiting for September 9th when “The Winter Soldier” comes to DVD. He picked up “300: Rise of an Empire”. I picked up and put down more movies than I can count but finally settled on used copies of “Olympus Has Fallen”, “Die Hard”, and “Die Hard with a Vengeance”. We drove to a new Chinese…scratch that…Asian place because we are becoming unhappy with the our favorite one that we have patronized for 30 years. That’s heartbreaking it really is.

New place…no good. Nope I am not a fan of Golden City. They put funky stuff in the food like cinnamon and nutmeg. Who puts nutmeg in an eggroll? Ok fine I don’t shit about Traditional Asian Cooking. I have come to the conclusion that I like ‘American Chinese Food’. It hurt my tummy. Just when it was feeling better. I burped up coconut chicken all night. 😦

Slept until 10 o’clock this morning which was very nice. Feeling kinda sorta ok but not great. Waiting to relieve myself of the last of the Chinese food and then maybe I’ll be better. Had weird dreams about running down some kid with my car. I seemed happy about this. I have no idea why. It was very strange.

Now to the movies:

300: Rise of an Empire
I hated the first one. I still hate the first one. I’ll always hate it. I hate War Movies (go on laugh…The Big Guy gets a massive kick out of it every time!) When hubby picked this up knowing how much I hate “300” I nearly said something but he loves this shit and he’s my husband, this is a partnership, on we go.

If you liked “300” you’ll like this. It’s the same schmaltzy BS with overly done effects that totally take away any shred of value the thing has. Well except for the sex scene. I can honestly say that’s the best part about this movie and it totally reminded me of someone near and dear to my heart.😉 It also reminded me of those great fuck-me scenes we used to get in 70s ‘R’ rated movies and made me long for them to return. (But better.)

As for the rest of it, I just sat there staring at it watching the meter on the Blu-Ray player tick off along with the time and making my best guess as to when it would end. I was pretty much on target with the time…thank the Gods! Yes and wondering again and again and again why all of the ‘Greeks’ seemed to have British accents, why they didn’t look Greek at all and why the Persians didn’t look anywhere near Persians and why they sounded Mexican. Weird. But then again, this movie is much like “Titanic”…the fuckin’ boat sinks, ok? Athens still stands today and where’s Persia? Oh yeah, that’s right, it’s gone. So….guess who won. Do we really need to watch this to know that?

You decide.

I won’t give this a rating because, as I said, I hate War Movies to begin with. But, I’m getting better…maybe. I did buy “Platoon” for my husband for Father’s Day. If there’s one movie that I would give anything to wipe off the face of the Earth it’s that one. I hate it with a passion that burns hotter than the sun. I do. Yet I bought it for him because he loves it and it goes well with “Full Metal Jacket”. I calm myself by telling myself these are ‘Classics’ now and therefore have a place on our shelf. I actually sat through the parts I hate MOST about the flick one day. I was done writing. I walked into the living room and I sat down. I ended up a bit proud of myself for not running out of the room shrieking and The Big Guy was awed by my determination to face those scenes and the fears held within them. I figure now I never have to watch them again. I was right, I hate it, no doubt now. Like “Angel Heart” I never have to see it again.

I still can’t watch a Tom Beringer movie. Nope. Every time I see him I want to stab him in the head to this day. That’s really good acting or I may have a slight problem somewhere along the line.😉

Olympus Has Fallen
I bought this one because I’d heard that between this one and “White House Down” it was the better movie. Not necessarily the better story you understand this is kind of like “Armageddon” vs. “Deep Impact”. “Deep Impact” was the more realistic one but “Armageddon” wins the day because it has those awesome effects and Bruce Willis. I’m no Gerard Butler fan (see “300”) but I do love Morgan Freeman, ah, Red, my man.

Good flick. Really a very good flick. Beat the shit out “300: Rise of Empire” that’s for sure. Rather than being over done and detracting from the flicks the effects are very good. In fact they’re terrifying. When the Washington Monument tumbles you believe it and you feel 9/11 all over again. It was stupefying. Butler does a really good job with the part I totally bought him and I like Aaron Eckart although I don’t know if I’d vote for him for President.

As I sat there watching them blow up the White House (something all of us has secretly wanted to do at one time or another) I actually looked at the damn thing and thought; Hey, that kind looks like…

Before I could finish I actually HEARD his head and palm slap against each other as he groaned; Don’t you dare say ‘it looks like a Greek temple’

Well, it does, don’cha think?

Oh my GODS! You’re JUST noticing this???? (long sigh) Watch the damn movie. (grumble grumble grumble)

By little qualms with the film are: I think one would notice THAT MANY Asian people hanging out around the White House and think; Hummmm….maybe something’s up. And, I’d kill the President. Seriously. I would have told the bad guy I’d wipe North Korea off the map in 5 minutes if he didn’t drag his skinny ass out of that bunker. I mean, c’mon, it’s the President you get a new one every four-to-eight years anyway. Chances would be that I didn’t vote for whomever he was. So…no big loss.😉

But it is an action-packed thrill ride to be sure. I love a big budget action flick. I do.

(Yes, I see the irony on all counts. You don’t need to point it out to me.)

If you love one too this is definitely worth the watch. Aunty Moon gives it a B+

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 03/08/2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

