Aftermath


counter for wordpress

We’ve never done this before, did you know that? Nope. Never put in an insurance claim. Hubby did it way back when he got his very first bike and somebody else trashed it but that was 30 years ago. I worked in a law office for 8 years and don’t have much of a clue regarding things like this; real estate and probate, remember?

Truly, I’m just tickled pink that I still get to curl up to him every night. That’s the only thing I really give a rat’s ass about. He’s still here and in one piece.

With that in mind….yesterday a friend of his showed up just as we were about to sit down and eat our first meal since the accident (well for me, I hadn’t eaten in 48 hours by that point, nope the last thing I had eaten was dinner on Monday night). He’s a work buddy, you know what I mean? Not someone we necessarily hang out with but who drops by here and there because he’s in the neighborhood or whatever. I like him…kinda, I don’t really know him but he’s a very opinionated fellow. I like to think that he means well. The whole time he was here he just kept talking about lawyers and getting money and what a golden opportunity this is. Then he went on and on and on about…lying to get the most money! He kept getting LOUDER about it. No joke. I bet the neighbors across the street heard him plain as day. I sat there and ignored it until he just got so loud and insistent that he couldn’t be ignored. I sort of glared at him and then he said to me; “Well don’t you agree? After I leave here aren’t you going to push him to do this?”

I said: “No.”

He was just kinda shocked. He wanted to know why and I told him I told him that I worked in a law office for eight years. He seemed to believe that should lead me to be on his side and when he pressed me for an answer I gave one my of my old bosses might have given; “I’m not comfortable discussing the matter with you.”
I said it nicely and coolly and all I really wanted to do was throttle him once or twice before showing him the door. He got the point and left pretty quickly.

That’s my definition of “Ugly American” and the personification of everything that’s wrong in this country. He can’t even see it.

Man, he pissed me off. Spoiled my appetite, I only ate 1 Mickey Ds cheeseburger and some fries. I tried to eat another one late last night, took two bites, and that was it.

Sometimes accidents just happen. They do. There’s no sense in getting vindictive over it. Ok, if they’re drunk or texting or something like that then it’s different but I’ve no reason to believe that’s the case here so why get all nasty about it? Just settle-up, call it even and be happy everyone ‘walked away’ then go on with your life.

Any-hoo…that’s just my $0.02, ok? I know…it ain’t worth much.

I got the police report today and it clearly states the other driver was the cause of the accident. The report kind of made me chuckle, they draw this little diagram of the accident and under it they wrote “not to scale”. Really? No kidding? I smiled a little. It’s just a little map. I don’t know why they have to put that there. Kinda strange.

Hubby called the place the remains of the bike were towed to…it’s smooshed. The guy was surprised that hubby ‘walked away’ and wasn’t seriously injured. He called the other person’s insurance company and filed a claim.

Today the bruises are really showing up and I took photographs of them. Poor guy is so sore he can barely stand up and he sort limp/toddles around for a few moments at a time then has to sit down. He’s got a nice bruise on his butt and outer thigh but it’s the one in the frontal area that’s bothering me. Yep, his penis is bruised…I mean it’s bruised. Up until today I didn’t know it wasn’t even possible to bruise a penis and I…never mind that would be TMI. I took pictures but I won’t post ’em here…aren’t you lucky?😉

Oh that’s a bummer. Major bummer. You know how much I like sex, I know you do if you hang around here often enough. This could be another little ‘bump in the road’. Got nice scrapes on his scrotum too. Bumm-er!

I don’t know how he did it but he’s got a big one on his heel. Those stupid overly expensive boots that we argued about when he bought them are thick and tough. They don’t show much sign of damage but his heel has a fat round bruise on it. Weird. The way he keeps complaining about his upper back I won’t be surprised if a bruise starts showing up tomorrow morning or so.

Anyway, I’m keeping it all in file; the accident report, pics I took, and I got the pictures Rebecca’s friend took of the scene. I guess that’s it. Now we just wait. Right? I really have no clue so as to what to do or expect from this point onward so if you do your assistance would be appreciated.

I’m hoping to actually get some sleep tonight. I’m wiped. I even took two Advil PM last night but they did no good. Not only did I stay awake what sleep I did get as the sun began to rise caused me to wake with a headache. I still have it as I type not even the ibuprofen I took has touched it. Eating something might help I suppose but my stomach still isn’t interested. Oh well, maybe I’ll sack out and watch a movie to try to decompress. Maybe later tonight we’ll see about eating those ribs I was cooking Tuesday, they are still here and I think they’re fully cooked! Yep, I turned off the oven but didn’t take them out of it as I headed for the door. The pan was still a little warm when we got home late Tuesday night. I think they’re done.

I think I’m pretty ‘well done’ too.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 21/08/2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Donna Ruggieri

    Wow aches and pains and bruises everywhere! Poor guy, but you’re right, he’s there with you to have and to hold! My late husband fell on the cement steps one time. He was bruised from the top if his butt right up his spine. Wouldn’t take my word for it so I took a picture of it and printed it up while he was sleeping. I left it on the table and he went to the doctor. Fortunately he was ok although he didn’t like being “violated” as he slept lol. I still have that picture somewhere but I’m sure it pales next to the pictures you have!

  2. as for the bruises, it’s very possible to show a bruise in an area you are 100% you didn’t hit or bump into. when you bruise , you bleed internally, to put it bluntly and blood will always find a way to show itself somewhere. last year i did a nasty fall and fell on my knee, right one, outside hurt like hell!! it never bruised, at least not on that spot.the bruises appeared on my foot, i even took pictures of it and how swollen the feet/foot are/were.
    this wasn’t the first time.
    however i’m still glad to hear that so far it’s just bruises and such that are causing some distress and not a long stay at the hospital, he’s indeed a very lucky man to walk away with what he has!!
    also agree that scamming the insurance is never a good idea, you can list a thousand things that are true and hope for the best.

Tell Me What You Think

