Sick of it All


counter for wordpress

The Heart of War is now permanently FREE on my site! Click Here to read at no cost to you.

Child of War-A God is Born will soon follow along with OBSESSION, the Limikkin, and probably On a Hot Summer Night and GENESIS.

I have to say that I have been very heartened by the jokes and fuck yous surrounding the “Fifty Shades of Shit” movie, I’ve also been glad to see the lackluster reviews that do a lot of backpeddling…. “better than the books”, “not as badly done as the books”, “great score”, “Dakota Johnson does her best with bad material” and so on seem to stretch far and wide for good things to say about this ‘blockbuster’ book because..well..they have to. Let’s face it, Gene Siskel, Roger Ebert, Rex Reed, and Joel Siegel aren’t reviewing movies any longer. We’re left with a bunch of internet posters/bloggers/uninformed idiots to tell us what may be good to see and what may not be good to see. Those guys had balls, for the most part, and knew movies. If something sucked they told you. They didn’t try to appease the illiterate masses or the head retards at Random House who think selling a bazillion copies of utter crap is all that matters.

However, like a lot of other Indie Writers I know…who, like myself (toot-toot) are light years ahead of the schmaltz EL James put out…I quit.

Not writing, of course. Not storytelling, of course. But trying to do this for money. In a day and age when cardboard cutout males and paper doll females are lauded as ‘new’ and ‘exciting’…it’s time to hang it up and let those who think “Twilight” and spellcheck are the best things since slice bread bring the entire literary world down a few pegs. After nearly 40 years, it’s time to call it a day. I just can’t take this any longer. Those of us who honestly hone our skills and strive to bring you real characters (not caricatures) that resonate are sick of this crap. I’m going to say it loud and proud: EL James is a hack who doesn’t deserve a single second of the fame that’s come her way nor has she earned a single dime of the money she’s made.

However, in a world where mediocrity is applauded and true originality/creativity is frowned upon I can understand her limp rise to fame. Everybody’s special, right? Everybody deserves an award just for trying, right? I said ‘no’ to that a long time ago but nobody listened. So EL James is what the world gets. Whoo…freakin…hoo.

Yeah. Have fun with that one and with placing the bar so low even sloth can crawl over it in nothing flat.

I’m going back to do this for me. Because its actually what I DO and WHO I AM not because I’m jumping off the shoulders of a lesser more ‘sparkly’ but still shitty writer.

Stories will disappear from Kindle as they become available to read free ONLINE…don’t wanna upset Jeffy! They will always be available in paperback, on Smashwords, iBooks, Kobo, and Nook. Those sites don’t have such restrictions and don’t believe they’re the End All and Be All of the Publishing World the way Bezos the Clown does. So you’ll still be able to get them for your ereader for $0.99.

Hey man, I have a real job and real skills along with real life experience…EL can’t claim that much. I don’t need my stories to support me and I’m sick and tired of jumping up and down trying to gain any semblance of attention in this field.

Like I said, I’m not alone. Not by far. I know that because I’ve kept on the reviews for the movie and the book. Of course I do have my fingers on the pulse of the Indie Community, not many of which are happy for EL and her load of crap. The more reviews I came across the more I heard things such as; “I couldn’t finish the first book”. I’d really like to know how many of the 100 million books sold were 1-returned to Kindle/Amazon and 2-actually finished by the reader.

Sales are one thing. Quality is quite another.

So thank you moron at Random House who thought “Fifty Shades of Grey” was something that the public should read. Thank you EL James and I really really hope you pull off an ORIGINAL story some day. I take that back, I hope you fall flat on your fat ass as a one trick wonder the same way JK Rowling has done. Don’t get me wrong, I really like the Harry Potter movies but it’s a bit too much D&D and LOTR for me. Another writer lauded for not coming up with anything truly original. Oh well.

Free Stories ‘R’ Us. For the most part. Some will still be available for sale for the price of a cup of coffee. I know that’s too much to ask from some of the cheapass masses. Again…oh well.

As a female, I don’t want to be too mean but I honestly believe that EL James’ next book should be based upon her phone call from Weight Watchers wanting her to be their next spokesperson. Is that too mean? Is that ‘fat shaming’? Oh well, it really does seem that the plumper the author the more trite the ‘hot’ material is.

Like I’ve said before; some of us have experience with what we write and others, like their low brow audience, can only wish they did.

“Master of the Universe” indeed….I’d rather have He-Man than ‘Christian’ no real balls ‘Grey’ any day of the week.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 11/02/2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Teresa Kleeman

    Lisa Beth,

    50 Shades Of Gray is just a rip off from James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhall movie The Secretary. That was the original 50 Shades of Gray. That movie was hot and it was very steamy. I bet we could catch it on Hulu or something like that. I be honest I haven’t read the book because I didn’t think it could compare to that movie. Check it out sometime and I agree with you. Critics just pacify people now.

Tell Me What You Think

