Mysterious Ways-Any Betas Out There?


counter for wordpress

It’s been a hell of a few days and I feel like I’m half-way through one long marathon.

We’ve cut the crap out of this story. We really have. I’ve never made any secret that the entire “Sister Christian” series (and The Doc series) are re-writes from my old fandom days. No, I am sooo not following in ‘those’ footsteps as I would never even consider submitting either series to a major house for publication to the Public at Large simply because of the way they began Life. Random House would have to pucker up hard for “Sister Christian”. Real hard. Although, I might like to see Mason and Hannah picked up by a small press that could really get behind them. No matter its beginnings, I have *always* adored this story. In some small part of me lies the hope that this will be what lives past my years on this earth.

Anyway, we cut out a bunch. Most I’m saving for the next story where it will be truly integral to the remainder of the plot. Some….I dunno…maybe we should put it back. Maybe it was just weighing us down and giving me that ‘jumbled’ feeling the whole time. Whatever. Spaulding (a/k/a Wilson) is no longer a ‘love interest’ for Hannah. Everything that happened between the two will now either happen with Nick or be chopped. Yes, that includes their one-night stand. Sorry. I’m also trying to ditch most references to DOTG where Nick is concerned while still keeping a small nod, a little homage, to it for those ‘in the know’.

It just seemed to move the story along faster for Today’s Audience.😛

So….I’m at the part where we’re ‘Down the Rabbit Hole’ and this where I intended to cut the guts out of the story (except that came earlier than expected). It’s killing me. It’s giving me a headache. I thought I could get rid of most of this but I can’t. I never understood why the Muse insisted with an iron fist on “Alice in Wonderland”, “White Rabbit” (Jefferson Airplane), “The Velveteen Rabbit” and tons of other rabbit references. I did it simply because it was what the story–The Muse–demanded of me, even though I was totally lost.

Now…I can only read a few paragraphs at a time before I start finding it difficult to sit in my seat without screaming; “What the fuck are we doing????”

I did manage to change a small thing within those chapters and that seems to be making them a bit better. I did manage to get all the way through them…though I had to skip around quite a bit to quell my anxiety….in the end, I thought them ok. Maybe.

Now it’s your turn.

If YOU would like to read the first half of “Mysterious Ways” AND
1- <strong>I know you, we’ve been in contact often over the years either here or in the RW
2- You have the time right now
3- You swear upon pain of penalty of death you will never share it with anyone

I could really use a few new pairs of eyes on this. You don’t have to edit, please don’t edit. Just read and if you find any blanks show them to me then fill them in with what you’d like to see. If you find the whole Down the Rabbit Hole thing is making your eyes cross, for the love of all the Gods, let me know! I think I can cut the few paragraphs that include ‘Tweedle-Dee’ and ‘Tweedle-Dumb’ but, other than that, I’m afraid to say that I think it works.😦

Whatever.

If you’re out there, you fit the criteria of being a true friend (RW or Internet), and you want to read this–hopefully you’ve read the first stories as well, yes that helps a great deal–the contact me. I could use your assistance.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 27/04/2015, in The Writer's Life. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. 😃😃😃😃😃

Tell Me What You Think

