Avengers: Age of Ultron


counter for wordpress

A MILLION SPOILERS AHEAD!

I think I will reserve an actual review of this movie until it comes out for home release. Our seats in the theater have a lot to do with this decision. We were in the front row the last two seats to the right side of the screen. I haven’t sat that close to the screen since I was a kid and if those chairs had not reclined I would have left halfway through because my neck would have been killing me. We were so close to the screen it was overwhelming, truly, it was. My brain spent most of the movie on Overload as it scanned back and forth over the screen. Being that close and that far to one side it was very difficult to get any perspective. Of course, a set of speakers were as much ‘in our ears’ as the screen was ‘in our faces’. So…..wow.

But, unlike a lot of people who showed up to the 7:15 show, we did get to see it.πŸ™‚ Yeah, there was a line of very unhappy people at the box office watching the rest of us just walk right in with our digital tickets. Sorry, guys and gals. It really can be worth the ‘convenience fee’ to buy your tickets online.

Anyway, if you’ve seen all of the films in this series you definitely want to go see this one…I would suggest buying your tickets in advance if you’re planning on going any time soon. It has everything you want/expect in a film like this; action, fantastic effects, and witty one-liners although I think I may have been the only one who got the Eugene O’Neill reference. If someone tells you their days has been “Eugene O’Neill long” it’s a reference to “Long Day’s Journey into Night”πŸ™‚ Yeah, I know, I’m from New London so it’s like mandatory that we read all Eugene O’Neill plays/works. LOL

However, I don’t know if it was our seats or if the movie really is a bit disjointed so I’m reserving final judgment.

While I understand introducing new characters I don’t like changing the main cast and that appears to be what’s happening at the end of this movie. Granted we did not stay for the Easter Egg…if you did, please let me know what it was. I believe they’re setting us up for “Captain America: Civil War” so with any luck some of the new characters will get the axe in that flick. I really didn’t like them very much but that could change upon home release. The last thing I thought as the movie came to a close was; Oh great, the B-Team is going to take over, everything’s in the hands of the comic relief, awesome.

People on the internet made a big deal out of the fast guy (Quicksilver?) dying, they were upset. I didn’t care. They don’t tell the audience enough about him to make him likeable or his sister (Scarlet Witch?). I’m given to understand these two characters crossover from X-Men, which I guess is why they were being held and experimented upon by a guy named Stucker….get it? Stucker/Striker. They’re supposed to be bad guys turned good guys but, again, the general non-comic book reading audience, is left to not care much about them because you just don’t know much about them. If that Quicksilver guy is supposed to be the same kid from “X-Men Days of Future Past” then….WTF? Somebody clue me in here.

There’s a nice little budding romance between Natasha (Black Widow) and Bruce Banner (The Hulk) but…like “Battle of the Five Armies” the audience is let down unnecessarily, to a point. Yes, I do get the point, the why of it, I just don’t like it. I’m a sucker for an unlikely couple.

They did give a slight nod to ‘Bucky’ so that made me happy and hopeful that he will be in “Civil War” and at least I’ll find out what in the hell happens to him! It’s driving me crazy!

Original Danny (James Spader) does a really good job as Ultron. I love his voice, it’s one of the main things that made fall in love with Daniel Jackson in the first place. Still, he’s a hard bad guy to get into because, well, he’s not real. He is a nice mirrored reflection of the dark side of Tony Stark. Good job on that score. Kudos.

The storyline ties in nicely with past movies and “Guardians of the Galaxy”. I’m kinda hoping for an “Avengers/Guardians of the Galaxy” crossover. I’d love to see those two teams get together. That would be awesome. So it probably won’t happen…LOL.

Last, but not least, JARVIS lovers….he’s gone. He’s some new weird red character now with a body, part of the B-Team, and he has an Infinity Stone in his head so I’m sure someone will be coming for that sooner or later. Oh yeah, the Infinity Stone is what was powering Loki’s scepter. Geez, I missed having someone like Loki in the movie. So…bye-bye to my favorite digital butler. There’s a new one now. Some chick voice. I am not happy with that. Nope. Oh, well, we’ll just have to wait and see how that goes I guess.

Those are my impressions of the flick from my too-close-to-the-screen seat. Like I said I’m reserving final judgment until I see it at home where my head won’t be spinning and I’ll be able to concentrate better. In the meantime, if you haven’t seen it, go see it, it is definitely worth the price of admission. If you have seen it and you can fill in some of the blanks for me the comment section is below. Please use it.πŸ™‚

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 09/05/2015, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

