Amazon… A virtual marketplace, or Big Brother?


counter for wordpress

I keep telling everyone how horrible Amazon is. Here’s even more proof.

imy santiago

A couple of weeks ago I read the third installment of a series I really loved. I will refrain from sharing the name of the novel and its author.

Like any reader, as soon as I finished reading, I wrote my review. When I tried posting it on Amazon (I did buy the eBook, just like any normal and decent human being would), I received a rather concerning email.

I will not share the screenshot of the email as it does contain the title of the book and name of the author. In its place I have copied the body of the email below.

Dear Amazon Customer,

Thanks for submitting a customer review on Amazon. Your review could not be posted to the website in its current form. While we appreciate your time and comments, reviews must adhere to the following guidelines:
http://www.amazon.com/review-guidelines

Here I was, thinking I had included an…

View original post 972 more words

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 02/07/2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Now that is incredible! So what if you do know a writer personally? Maybe you got to know her/him from your love of their books! And just what is their definition of knowing someone personally? Age, birthday, marital status, children (by name), hometown, family pet??? Maybe you have a photo with this author? If that’s the case, Stephen King and I are old friends!!! I can’t believe they’d stop anyone from posting reviews, especially good ones…isn’t that more sales for them as well as for the author (not to mention their profit is bigger than the author’s profit)? Unbelievable!

    • It is totally f’d up! And it’s scary. How do they know who you know? Amazon hits my site at least once a week and this blog the same. Those are the sites I can ‘see’ them on but what FB? Twitter? Tsu? Google+? Are they tracking the author’s and reviewer’s pages/sites/blogs to cross reference who knows who, and, if so, why? I think they’re using that type of information for more than just the display of reviews.

Tell Me What You Think

