My Little Experiment


counter for wordpress

So, in July we gave away roughly 200-250 world-wide copies of “The Limikkin” and somewhere around 500 world-wide copies of “A Window to Magickal Herbalism”.

“The Limikkin” picked up a lousy review. Thanks. I love it when people get something for free and then feel free to trash it because it wasn’t to their specific taste. It has had NO pages read in the Kindle Lending Library.

“A Window” picked up a nice review. Thank you!! You really made my day! It has had somewhere around 400 world-wide pages read in the Kindle Lending Library.

“OF WAR Complete” hasn’t kicked off its special price yet but someone bought it at full price and promptly shared it with someone else. It has 1,084 pages read in the Kindle Lending Library.

I guess that sounds OK until you realize, according to Kindle, “OF WAR Complete” is 3,777 pages. In reality it’s 1,750. “A Window” has 182 Kindle pages. In reality it has 83 pages. Writers may be getting slightly screwed here. Just a possibility. Can’t say for sure until I see the check.

None of the other books enrolled in KDP, The Lending Library, and/or Unlimited have done anything. A few managed a single sale but that’s about it. So for my exclusivity and my generosity I’ve gotten bubkiss. Yep. Nada. Needless to say, they will be widely available on Nook, Smashwords, iBooks, Kobo and others when their Kindle prison term is up. Some may stay in Unlimited and/or the Lending Library but none will remain exclusive. It simply isn’t worth it. As I said before, I may do some bundles that can be ‘exclusive’ just so I can run specials on Kindle from time to time. With the other sites I don’t have to be exclusive to run a sale and I like that.

Now…on another note

01bluemountainmed

Has a new chapter. If you’re interested Click Here. The coding has been removed for the time being. Yes, wherever this story leads the FULL ROUGH DRAFT will be available on the site. I can’t say for how long. Pirates and all. But the ending chapters will be there (probably with coding) when we get to that part. If you read I hope you enjoy! As always, feel free to drop me a line with your comments and feedback as we make our way through this story.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 02/08/2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing your experience. I’ve wondered if my self-published book would benefit from Kindle Unlimited. My inclination is to say “no.”

    • I’ve stayed out of Unlimited and the Lending Library for a while. They looked like a bit of a rip-off to me. I’ll leave the books in those programs a bit longer but I won’t go ‘exclusive’ again.

Tell Me What You Think

