Halloween Will Go On Part Trois


counter for wordpress

WOW! That post of mine, you know the first part of this little series, has been view well over 1,000 times in just two days. It’s been shared 287 times on Facebook. This time yesterday we were at a measly 73 share. That’s some crazy shit, man. Hummm….does this mean I’ve finally ‘gone viral’?πŸ˜›

Oh well, guess I pissed somebody off. Looks like the entire countries of Canada and the UK. Strange, huh? Yep, those are the two biggest hitter countries and I thought it might be the US but we are sorely lagging behind those two. Go figure.

Our Halloween Night went well. As promised here’s the video. I’m not very good at this sort of thing but I tried.

Yeah, as you can see we don’t like Halloween at all! In case you’re wondering; no, we didn’t buy all of the lights and sound equipment expressly for Halloween, hubby DJs now and then so that’s why we have it.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get as many kids as we like to see. It was a rather slow night but we had some good waves. Hubby, well, I really shouldn’t let him hold the controller on the fog machine. He blasted that thing each time a kid came near the house. I don’t mean he pushed the button I mean he fogged up most of the street. Kids either laughed or scream…although one of them jumped right into it and did a little dance, he was so cute! Two kids (older kids too) actually ran away and wouldn’t come near the house. Yes, no worries, the Ultra Thick Myst is 100% non-toxic and safe for the environment. But it does get quite thick.πŸ™‚

I kept the inside lights off and dressed all in black so they couldn’t see me when I came to the door with the bowl. I got a few good starts out of some of them.

We had several Storm Troopers, Darth Vader, Superman, Supergirl, Princesses, Clowns, Zombies, Skeletons and even a few Ninja Turtles. They’re all so cute and wide-eyed when I stoop down at the door with this huge bowl of candy in my arms and tell them to ‘go ahead, pick what you want’. They look at their parents as if to say; Really? Then they dig in.πŸ™‚

We had a few older kids who didn’t bother to dress. I don’t care how old you are when you come to my door to Trick-or-Treat, if you’re in a costume I’m very happy to give you several pieces of candy. If not, then begrudgingly, I’ll give you one piece of candy. We had a few with ever-present ‘my other kid/my sibling is home sick’ and they toss an extra bucket under my nose. One piece for them too.

For those interested, candy doled out consisted of; Tootsie Rolls, Tootsie Pops, Dots, Snickers bars, Twix, M&M’s (plain) and Starburst. Only one candy had nuts, that’s not to ‘accommodate’ any ‘special kids’ or ‘special needs parents’. I buy candy the same way everyone else probably does; according to what I like, what I can afford, and then coming to amount of said candy I can buy. People aren’t out here trying to screw with your ‘special’ kids’ head or make them ‘feel bad’ or ‘left out’. Though I might suggest that you, ‘special needs parent’, take a look in a mirror to find out if YOU are doing something to make your ‘special’ kid feel that way. It’s altogether possible that YOU are the problem as well as the solution. Not the rest of the world. Just a thought.

I was sort of disappointed in the number of kids who came around. I can remember when the streets were utterly FULL of Trick-or-Treaters lining both sides. Hubby says it’s a dying tradition. I hope that’s not true but if it is I suppose I can see why. People are zapping all of the fun out of it in so many ways. Now the kids have to go to ‘safe’ places like the mall. The mall! That’s sad, really, it is. Breaks my heart. I always thought Halloween a far better holiday than Christmas but now that Christmas begins before Halloween it’s getting overlooked in favor of spending oodles of money on people to prove that you love them. Or something like that anyway.

All in all, it was a good night and since we do it for the younger kids–and we don’t want to annoy the heck out of our neighbors who are kind enough to put up with our display– we shut it down around 8:00 but kept the light on until 8:30 or so. After that it’s just those older kids who don’t bother to do anything but ask for candy. It all breaks down quickly so we brought the equipment inside then we went up to bed to watch “Jurassic World”. It’s close to a horror movie and hubby did capitulate to let me watch “It” and “Halloween” on TV yesterday. He hates horror flicks. He’ll watch the bloodiest goriest war movies you can find but he won’t watch ‘Freddy’ or ‘Jason’. Weird. But I’m just the opposite, I’d rather deal with a supernatural horror any day.

I hope you had a Happy Halloween, that you got lots of costumed little ones to come to your door, that you got a fright or two. Being scared is good for you. Let’s you know you’re alive. I hope you got lots of treats. I hope no one gave you a carrot stick or a Jesus pamphlet. If they did perhaps you returned the favor with a roll of toilet paper?

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 01/11/2015, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Tell Me What You Think

