A Merry Little Christmas


counter for wordpress

Miss Nicole and Nate arrived about 7:30 last night! Many thanks to one of our bestest friends ever, Joe-Joe, for toting them from Michigan to Connecticut! It was so good to see him too. I miss all three of them terribly. Miss Nicole’s arrival was so anticipated that Miss Rebecca kept texting us throughout the day telling us not to forget her. LOL

I tell you, for decades it was nothing more than a wish on the wings of a prayer that my girls might miss each other one day. All the fussing and fighting and arguing they did growing up, I thought they’d never be ‘sisters’. (Yeah, yeah, what do I know? I don’t have a sister. I am an only child…well, until I found my brother a few years ago that isπŸ™‚ )

Tonight, for the first time in what seems like forever, we’re all going to pile into the new Pathfinder (me, hubby, Nikki, Becca, Nate, Hector and Joe-Joe!) we’re going to drive around aimlessly and look at Christmas lights and get pizza just like we did every Christmas eve when they were very little. I’m getting a little misty-eyed just thinking about it. We have a few stops on our route, I’m told there’s an absolutely fantabulous house that we must go to off of Spithead Rd in Waterford, their lights are timed to music by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra and can be heard on your radio. (That’s on Mullen Dr. if you’re in my area and want to check it out) then there’s more on Great Neck Road and, of course, the yearly Christmas Light Competition just off Niantic River Road. Hopefully we’ll make it over to Mystic where they do the candles-in-a-bag….I love those. So New England. Except for the fact that it’s almost 60 degrees here in Good Ol’ CT it should be just like Old Times with lots of calling out; “My side! Your side! Oh look at THAT one!”

Happy Mom Moment…..Miss Rebecca and Hector agreed to spend the night here tonight so we’ll all be together first thing Christmas Morning! Yay!!!!! No, I don’t have a lot of room, in fact Nikki and Nate are at this very moment snoozing away on a futon upstairs. Hey, what can I say? They took the beds with them when they moved out! LOL So Becca and Hector will end up sleeping on the new recliners in the living room though I have a sneaking suspicion that Da Boyz will end up playing xBox down stairs until the wee hours of the morning while the girls and I watch TV in the bedroom. That’s fine by me.

Tomorrow morning we’ll get up and have cinnamon rolls then we’ll have our Merry Little Christmas–we never go over board with it, never had the money to do so and I think that makes Christmas extra-special. But there are a few gifts under our little tree. For the first time ever we bought a massive roast that we’ll cook tomorrow even though I think it would be better if we cut that baby up into 7 New York Strips and tossed ’em on the grill.πŸ˜› Mashed potatoes, gravy, salad, cookies galore. It should be a nice day even if it is going to be over 60 degrees again tomorrow. Feels more like Florida than New England around here lately.

Snow or no snow, Christmas will go on.

Saturday we’ll laze around rubbing our tummies and then bright and early Sunday morning Nikki, Nate, and Joe-Joe will head back to Michigan. So I’m going to enjoy the hell out of it while they’re all here with us.

I hope you’re surrounded by the people you love and who love you. If not, and you’re close by me, there’s always room at my table for one more. Don’t knock, just open the door and come on in. We’ll be happy to have you.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 24/12/2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

