Another Old Lang Syne


counter for wordpress

I used to think it was just a cliche, you know, The Older You Get The Faster Time Flies.

Not a cliche.

LOL

I can’t believe the year is over already. I also can’t believe it’s December 31, 2015 and my doors are open to allow the warm fresh air into the house! Do you know it was over 60 degrees on Christmas Day? Yep, I had to open them then too just to keep a nice flow of air going since the seven then eight then nine of us were crammed into my living room. 🙂

Mostly 2015 was OK, we lost a lot of beloved people along the way but that’s true for any year. It’s not really special or new. However, here are some of those ‘celebrities’ that I was very sad to see go:

Yogi Berra

Yogi Berra

Jean Darling from "Little Rascals"

Jean Darling from “Little Rascals”

I loved “Little Rascals”! I’d get up way early on Sunday mornings to watch them. We didn’t have cable and when my friends got it and Channel 56 (Boston) began running them I’d beg my friends to let me watch their TVs! I really must do some research and find out if she was a distant relative.🙂

Wes Craven

Wes Craven

Oh! How many hours of spine tingling pleasure did he give me? I can’t count that high. I will miss him and his ability to truly scare people rather than gross them out or make them roll their eyes and groan.

"Rowdy" Roddy Piper

“Rowdy” Roddy Piper

Say what you about the WWF (no freakin ‘E’) but I loved to hate Piper. And, “They Live” was not a totally horrible movie. Best fight scene ever!

Omar Sharif

Omar Sharif

A bit of Old Hollywood luster and glamour. I knew he was aging but still way deep down in my heart of hearts if it should ever happen for me I would have loved for him to portray my version of Zeus.

Geoffrey Lewis

Geoffrey Lewis

You might have to IMDB him. He was much more than Juliette Lewis’ father.

Robert Loggia

Robert Loggia

If you actually do have to IMDB him…I pity you.

Percy Sledge

Percy Sledge

You might have to Google him if you think “When A Man Loves A Woman” was first sung by Michael Bolton.

BB King

BB King

If you don’t know who he was…you sooo don’t freakin’ belong here. Bye. Google and YouTube are your friends. Go visit them.

Lesley Gore

Lesley Gore

I can’t believe she was only 68. If you want to hear a song that’s “empowering to women” you should check out “You Don’t Own Me” then realize it came out and was a big hit in 1963. Then maybe you might want to take a look around and see how backward we’ve stumbled on several things. Or not. Whatever.

Fred Dalton Thompson

Fred Dalton Thompson

Hated his politics. Loved him on Law & Order. Call it the G. Gordon Liddy Effect…LOL

David Canary

David Canary

I LOVED to HATE ‘Adam Chandler’….OMG you have no idea! I rooted for ‘Stewart Chandler’ time and again. For many years he was the BEST thing about All My Children.

Leonard Nimoy

Leonard Nimoy

There are no words to describe how I felt when he died. “Spock” was my first love. He was. My very first TV crush. I will miss him but, on the bright side, I hear there’s some type of tribute to him coming up in “Star Trek: Beyond” so, if its done right, maybe that will ease this ache.

We saw many challenges, many hardships, many injustices that left me utterly speechless some I talked about here in Ye Ole Blog and others I just kept to myself. 2015 saw lots of people got “offended”…some of them rightly so. Others not so damn much. Strange world. That’s nothing new; it always has been and it always be a strange world. It’s just Human Nature. As always, the Big Wheel (The Wheel of the Year) will keep spinning. It stops for no one and no thing.

So go out there and grab it all by the throat come 2016. Make your mark. Do your best. Love Unconditionally. Share Without Expectation. Laugh So Hard the Heavens Can Hear You and It Laughs With You. Come summer, after a hot dry spell, peel off ALL you clothes and run outside to dance with zeal in a sweet rain shower. If there’s something you regret, any little thing, and you can do something about it…do that thing. In my honest experience I’ve never regretted anything I’ve actually done only those that I haven’t.

Tomorrow is a wish. It is not a promise. Though the sun will rise it may do so without you. Enjoy today.

Mostly, for this very moment in time, if you’re going out tonight…be safe! Watch out for the morons on the road and don’t be one of them! I love my family, my friends, my readers, and my lurkers, I would be sad to lose any one of you.

For myself and my wonderful hubby, we’re ordering Chinese food tonight. A big feast fit for a King and his Queen. Enough to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow because on New Year’s Day we’re having to beautiful steaks I bought🙂 Hopefully tonight hubby will get to play xBox with his brother for hours on end, I know how much he’s been looking forward to that. It killed us almost as much as Fred when we send the xBox and his wonderful partner, Lisa, didn’t give it to him! LOL I know, that’s bad. Oh well. Tonight maybe they can play until their hearts are content. I’ll be very happy with an “Avengers” marathon as I’ve recently discovered I’m a ‘Captain America’ girl.

As to the rest of it. To anything that’s holding you back….

35 years and the song never…ever…fails to make me cry. So, ya know,

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 31/12/2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

