This Gettin’ Older Thing Totally SUCKS


counter for wordpress

I got some bad news today. One of my friends passed away. This song is for him. Don’t ask me why except to say it came into my head and I saw him smile so it’s here. For him.

Although I didn’t tell a soul because it wasn’t my place to do so, I knew my friend was sick but I was under the impression he was getting better. That was not to be and today his poor family had to go through the utter agony of ‘pulling the plug’ in accordance with his wishes. I hadn’t seen my friend in a very long time. That happens after high school. We kept in touch for a few years then he moved away and I didn’t hear from him until a few years ago when I got a Facebook request from him. I was thrilled! I always liked seeing his posts because he never changed. He was always zany and crazy, he was the guy who would do any crazy stupid thing to make a friend smile. I mean…like…anything. LOL
As a teenager, when I was down, he was one of the few who were always right there to pick me up, dust me off, tell me everything was ok and to go tell everyone else to take a flying leap off a very short pier. Hell, he’d WALK to my house…all the friggin’ way across town! Bitter cold. Driving rain. Sweltering heat. Didn’t matter to him. He walked all that distance just to make me smile. A phone call was never good enough for him under such circumstances and it didn’t matter if it was dinnertime or midnight…there he was. On my doorstep, usually with a nip and joint but always with a smile, a hug, and ‘don’t worry, Lis, it’s ok’ along with a really strong dose of ‘fuck ’em, you don’t need ’em, they’re assholes’.

There aren’t many people in this world that I can say that about although I do have a few left from the Good Ol’ Days. The Glory Days. When we were young, naive, (some would say stupid) and full of ambition to take on a world that didn’t really know what to do with us because we defied classification. Yeah, he was one of those ‘bad boys’ in a leather jacket with a chain wallet and a total heart of gold.

I will miss him. Scratch that…I already do.

I was so sure he was going to get better. 49 is a hell of an age to have a brain aneurysm, isn’t it? My friend did not deserve such a disrespectful ending to his life. He went to Taco Bell for lunch (or was it dinner?) and some time later a stranger found him in his car, realized something was terribly wrong, and called for help. He suffered for a month in and out of a coma (from what I can gather) until no hope remained. That’s just shitty. It really is just completely SHITTY. Especially for someone whose smile never waned even through the toughest times in his life he kept smiling, kept laughing, kept joking, and making others smile with him.

Even now I can hear him; Don’t cry, Lis, it’s ok. I’m ok.

I know he is. I know he’s in a better place and one day I will see him again. I was just kind of hoping it would be at our next high school reunion rather than the After Life. Still, New London High School’s Class of 1984 has already lost more classmates than I would care to count or consider fair. It’s one thing when your heroes start dying off…they’re usually older than you and it’s just a normal part of life though we’ve certainly had enough of our heroes die already this year…its totally another when it’s your friends that you have to say good-bye to so soon. I’m honestly starting to think that Mr. Jackson’s accounting class was nothing more than a curse. So many people I had with me in that single class are gone. It can’t be anything else. It really can’t.

But I won’t dwell on that or wonder when my number in that class is coming due. I was always in the red anyway.

This one’s for you, my wonderful friend.

last_great_act_of_defiance_womens_plus_size_vnec

I love you.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 03/02/2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry Lisa. And I agree, getting older sucks! I have also lost a lot of former classmates as well as family, friends…even my husband. My heart goes out to you, and if I lived closer I’d be giving you lots of hugs!!!

    • I know you would! We’d split a big bottle of Barefoot and stay up late yakking away.šŸ™‚ When you’re young you think you’ll live forever but then you get old realize you were wrong. I just didn’t think we’d lose this many so soon it’s not even our 35th reunion yet they should be growing old and bouncing grandchildren on their knees. Doesn’t seem right. (((HUGS)))

  2. i’m sorry to hear about your loss. reading this he must have been one hell of a friend to have.

    • Thank you. He was just a plain and simple Nice Guy. His FB page is full of people sharing memories just like mine. We will all miss him very much.

Tell Me What You Think

