Fear and Loathing in America


counter for wordpress

We’ve all heard the lousy news regarding the “Worst Mass Shooting in American History” (well this week anyway, I’m sure by the end of the year someone will come along and top it). For those of you with your own agendas (we’ll get to those in a bit) who like to say it isn’t might I suggest a vocabulary lesson? From where I stand I think you could use one.

Any-hoo….yes, there were fifty people gunned down in a gay nightclub in Florida.

That’s horrible. Terrible. But, sadly, it’s no longer shocking. It’s just another day in paradise. That’s all. Stuff like this has become some commonplace I don’t bat an eyelash over it anymore. There was a time when I did but when the country decided it was ok to go walk into an elementary school and blow away 20 kindergartners and first graders–then a bunch of froot-loops decided to tell everyone it was all a hoax perpetrated by the US Government– I opted out of the conversation. Keep your guns. Buy more. Stock up on ammo. No one gives a shit. Least of all me.

What really kills me over all of this is the shit, the absolute utter shit, that popped up in my Facebook feed. No, I didn’t unfriend anyone over it but for the very first time I did take a few religious friends to task over the things they were saying. I usually stay out of that crap but when people start thinking their God loves mass murderers more than He does gay people….yeah, time for a reality check. I may have been unfriended by a few people, I really don’t know, I really don’t care. Thankfully I only actually knew one of them we went to school together back in the Dark Ages where he’s obviously still residing.

Yes, there were posts of love, kindness, sympathy, concern, and outrage. It was nice to see those.

There were posts by people using this tragedy to further their own political agendas too; religion, gun control, those nasty gay people, kick out those Muslims, and racism to name a few. You get my drift I don’t have to draw you a picture.

Hard to believe at a time like that all some people can do is think of themselves. Well, hard for me anyway, I don’t know about you. It seems every time a tragedy like this pops up and in the midst of all the evil offers us the opportunity to come to together and show solidarity and communal outrage people just use it to their own ends. They never see the bigger picture. They never see beyond themselves.

I don’t know about you but I think that makes God cry.

(Whatever God you want, pick one, or don’t…I don’t care.)

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” Edmund Burke

Perhaps he’s right but I’m here to tell you that I’m bowing out of it all anyway. The good, kind, compassionate, caring, courageous human being is too hard to find these days. At least ones that don’t come with strings and who just does what’s right simply because it IS right. Well there’s one left

Chris-Evans-Captain-America-Trilogy

But he’s fictional so he doesn’t really count.

As for me, I’ll continue going from home to work and from work to home, maybe enjoy my yard and I think I’ll start getting my groceries delivered to my door. Oh, you didn’t hear about the poor guy in the produce aisle who had his throat slit by some asshole who didn’t even know him? Yeah, he just walked up behind someone he never met and slit his throat. I don’t want to bleed all over the tomatoes. That’s ok, I’ll pass. I’ll go to work, pay my bills, and keep writing. I should be safe enough here.

Better than being out there anymore.

Out there is where the Crazy People live, kill, rant, rave, and well, that’s about all they do. The whole country has become one giant Insane Asylum with no bars and no guards. The inmates are running free and a lot of them are running the country. If you need further proof of that just look to our current Presidential Candidates.

Yeah, I’m out of this mess.

But you go ahead. Have fun without me.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 13/06/2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

