Took a Little Trip


counter for wordpress

Writing went very well yesterday! We have one chapter to go and “Prodigal Son” will be finished. Well, the first draft will be, there’s always the spell/grammar check and a little flourish and fill. Or in this case a little subtraction. Yes, I think we have to go back and take out a few small things. Nothing too major. We’ve set the release date for August 30th just to give us enough to time to get all of our little ducks in a row. With any luck at all I’ll be contacting my trusty beta readers very soon to see if they’re interested in reading this through for me and working their magick by catching my screw ups.πŸ™‚

These last few days we’ve just been writing away and bawling. Oh so many tears! Boo-hoo…boo-hoo…sniff sniff. No worries they’re tears of joy and I’m really hoping it makes readers have a good cry when it’s published. Guess we’ll find out when my betas are done. If they cry we’re good. If not maybe we have to go back to the drawing board. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen because I’ve never written an ending this damn happy before and I probably never will again. I have to say The Muse and The Gods truly blessed me when they tapped little ol’ me to give voice to Hannah’s story. I feel a bit honored and humbled by it all.

I was very happy with myself yesterday and hubby went on several job interviews. Yes, he’s still trying to find something local although I think we’re getting accustomed to the idea of him working in MA at least for the next 18 months. Anyway, we had dinner, we watched a little TV, I went upstairs to stretch out and pat myself on the back. Then he came up I asked if he let the cats in and he said no. I went downstairs and Charlie and Mongo came in but Missy Kitty just stared at me so I went to get her but she ran off. Back upstairs I went, we finished watching “Avengers” and popped in “Avengers II”. A little while later as it started getting dark I decided to give Missy Kitty one more call so I got out of bed in nothing but my panties and wandered down the dark hall to the stairs. I always turn on the hall light when I go down for a snack or to get the cats but, for whatever reason that I still can’t fathom, I left it off last night as I trotted down the stairs.

Halfway down I stepped on something very soft.

Charlie.

As I was in the middle of my little trip I heard a loud voice; Keep your head UP!

So did I manage to do that. Yeah. Go me.

Twisted my ankle, my feet flew out from under me and I went down HARD! Right on my hip.

For the life of me I can’t remember the last time I fell down a set of stairs and let me tell you I am too old for that shit! OW! Hubby says I’ve never done it in the 32 years we’ve been together. I don’t recommend it to anyone. No fun. Not at all. Nope.

Hubby came rushing down the stairs to find my laying there making some godawful sound. He helped me the rest of the way down the stairs to the couch where I just laid there in disbelief and pain. He got the air splint for my ankle which was already bruising. Then he got me back up stairs with an ice pack. At first I thought it was sprained or, worse yet, broken. But it seems to be fine today. Bruised but not painful. It’s my hip that’s absolutely killing me. Of course it had to be the side that I sleep on so snoozing was no fun. Every time I tried to get into a comfortable position I felt like I was dragging a lead weight with me. The whole leg just did not want to move at all. What a strange sensation. And it was tight–still is a bit. I fell on the outer hip, of course, but the entire hip and thigh is aching. I swore that when I got up this morning there’d be a massive bruise but it’s rather small not that it will stay that way. The last thing I wanted to do after not sleeping was put on a pair of jeans and drag my sore self into work but I managed it. Well, the work part, but I went in sweatpants LOL. Yeah, no, sorry, not having any tight clothing right now.

As I laid in bed feeling dazed and confused hubby asked what happened and I told him I stepped on Charlie. Hubby said Charlie was in the kitchen. I said, sure, now he is! Poor Charlie wouldn’t come upstairs for the longest time, I called and called for him but I think he was hiding his black furry face in shame. Eventually he came up and I was glad to see that I hadn’t done any damage to him.

Still….what a royal pain. Literally. This hurts. I’m limping around very slowly today. Hubby offered me an old cane and a friend offered me her crutches.

That’ll teach me to turn the light on every time I go down stairs in the night even if it is just for a quick…trip.

Anyway, I’m still hoping to finish “Prodigal Son” today pain or not. Just one chapter. Just one. That’s all. We can do it.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 21/06/2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. tap tap tap tap tap tap πŸ˜˜πŸ’•πŸ’•

  2. Omg. That is horrible. I fell down like 3-4 steps and broke my foot in 4 places. You are soooo lucky.

    Feel better soon. *hugs*

Tell Me What You Think

