Can Anybody Tell Me What Year This Is?


counter for wordpress

Seriously. I mean it. What fuckin’ year is this?

I woke up this morning…after actually getting some sleep last night…fed the cats, made coffee, turned on the news and…holy shit! WTF? The very first thing I thought to myself was that I must have been put in a Time Machine as I slept. It looks a lot more like 1968 (give or take) than 2016 out there. The second thing I thought to myself was; anyone out there who didn’t see this coming is either blind as bat or just wasn’t paying attention.

That’s not to justify or defend what happened in Dallas last night. No, no, no, not at all. Please don’t think I give my personal Seal of Approval to that crazy shit. However, being the Libra that I am, I can’t help but understand what inspired it.

I was born in 1966 and I grew up in a time of turmoil and unrest. We had war on TV every single night in full living color with our dinner. The real deal not the watered down BS you get now. So that was fun. We had Race Riots and Protests and the Civil Rights Movement and all that happy-crappy. So anyone in MY generation who wants to tell you something like ‘that’s not how it was back in my day’ is either lying or in the early stages of Alzheimer’s. I also grew up with the understanding that, no matter our skin color, we’re all human beings. Just people. There’s ONE race and that’s the HUMAN race. Even though it was all around me I grew up not being prejudiced or bigoted or racist. I just saw people. That was what the Civil Rights Movement wanted me to see and they were right.

In 2016 I’m given to understand that was wrong. I was supposed to be seeing ‘color’ all along. I think that’s bullshit to. I think it’s one of the things that has led to current events, not just Dallas but all of that crap that’s been going down these last few years. But mostly, I think there’s a whole bunch of people–on both ‘sides’– who can’t let go of the past and move forward. Why? I dunno. Maybe it scares them. Frightened people are dangerous just like a corner animal is dangerous. They lash out. They do stupid shit. But unlike 1966 or even 1976 when they do it in 2016 it makes the Internet in a massive way. We didn’t have any Internet. No Social Media. We just had ‘the news’. The REAL news not the crap you have today. You know, people who were educated and trained journalists. Now you have a bunch of jerks who color–no pun intended–everything the way they want you to see them. That too goes for both ‘sides’–Left and Right. Nobody just tells the truth anymore, that’s too boring. It doesn’t get enough ratings or hits or comments or what-the-hell-ever. Personally, I don’t think most people would even know The Truth if it walked right up slapped ’em across the face a few times and screamed “HI! HERE I AM!” They’re just too wrapped up in themselves and their narrow scope of what they believe to be reality. I guess I understand, after all, that’s comfortable for them and me of all people understand Comfort Zones. But that doesn’t mean I refrain from pushing myself beyond those boundaries at least from time to time to expand my horizons and my World View. It certainly doesn’t mean I completely hide from the Real World nor that I lock myself in with a…weapon and become some xenophobic asshole. (Trying to be nice here–I really want to say P—with a G—)

Any-hoo….I’m not totally ignorant either. We’ve discussed this before here in Ye Olde Blog. Americans of African heritage have it tough. They do. They always have. I sympathize and I try to understand how Americans of European heritage can be such jerkwads. But even though I am an American of European heritage (among other heritages) I just can’t wrap my head around it. Maybe because I don’t have fear or hate in my heart and I kinda like it that way. Maybe because even though I’m the worst kind of person imaginable; A Realist…I really long to be an Idealist. You know, like those hippies who blazed a trail for me. I want the world to be the way they envisioned.

But I know it’s more like

And worse yet

In the end, I swear to you upon everything that’s Good, Right, and Just in this world there really IS ONLY ONE RACE on Planet Earth.

If we don’t put all our effort behind that, ALL of US, then we’re doomed. We’re fucked. Completely. Wholly. Totally. We’ll just keeping repeating this cycle over and over and over and over again.

So from one old Hippie Realist who longs to be an Idealist to you who and whatever you are out there in Cyberspace….

There is NO ‘Them’… there is ONLY ‘Us’. We stand together or we fall into the pits of despair. There we will stay drowning in our own misery.

Black Lives Matter.

Blue Lives Matter.

All freakin’ LIVES MATTER.

This IS a Test, not ‘just a test’, but the Big Test. If we fail it….we’re all fucked.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 08/07/2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Karen Roberts

    Amen Lisa!!!!!!

Tell Me What You Think

