That Damn Promo Wheel


counter for wordpress

Ya know, if I didn’t absolutely LOVE writing and telling stories I wouldn’t put myself through this crap. I really wouldn’t. I have no illusions of becoming a “Best Selling Author” and making a million dollars anymore. I really don’t. That ship sailed a long long long time ago.🙂

However, I do still need to get the word out about a new release. And since I do still believe my stories are worth something…anything…they’re still ‘for sale’. Although my heart really wants to go back to just giving them away because that’s where I, personally, am happiest. But if I do that I can’t pay for promotional services. I’d have to go back to relying solely on Word of Mouth. Well, maybe not, I gave away nearly 500 stories when I put them up for free on Smashwords not that long ago. Then again, there are people out there who are simply Book Hoarders. That means they download every single free book they come across and never read them. Never mind review them or BUY another book by an author. So it’s a double-edge sword. Damned if you do. Damned if you don’t. And I’d go full-tilt-boogie if I didn’t actually have a LIFE. But I do have LIFE so that makes it difficult. You know, a husband away in MA, 2 kids who call constantly to check on Mom (Gods love ’em), 3 cats who depend on me, a job, a yard, a garden, a house….I GOT SHIT TO DO. You feelin’ me play-a? I can’t spend my entire life online like some other authors seem to do. I figure they got money to begin with and possibly nothing outside their books. That last part is sad. The first part…man I wish I had it. LOL

Any-hoo, I’ve spent days tracking down blogs and sending out personalized respectful sweet kind emails to them hoping they’ll let me on their site. I must have contacted 50 of them already. Guess how many responses I’ve received.

Six.

That’s right.

Six.

Thank the Gods for those kind folks! I’ve already taken care of them even though I’m not going to be on their sites/blogs until August 30th. That’s right, i’ve sent those six nice people the promo/spotlight/interviews they asked for. No sense in keeping them waiting.

Just so you can see I’m not BSing you here’s the standard email I’m sending them (personalized with site/blog owners name and name of the blog)


Greetings ______,

I would like to inquire with regard to having an author spotlight, guest post, interview or other promotional post of your choice on your site ______ in conjunction with my upcoming release “Prodigal Son”. This novel is slated for wide release on August 30, 2016. It is the fourth and final installment in my Sister Christian series. I realize the title can be misleading, however, although in large part this series in suitable for a Christian audience it is *not* a Christian or religious series. It is a family drama centering around a long-lost brother and sister.

The blurb for “Prodigal Son” is as follows:
When the Hour is Darkest Love and Faith Can Conquer All.
In the final installment of the Sister Christian Series, the Court has demanded a hearing regarding Hannah’s capacity. Hannah and Nick are falling deeper and deeper in love. Looking forward to a bright future together they begin planning their life together. A shadowy stranger from the past has set his sights on Hannah and her 3.5 million dollar trust fund. Is he really Rick MacNeill, the son Hannah thought died in the terrible fire at Saint Anne’s? Is he someone sinister? The last of the family secrets come to light in this roller coaster ride of suspense, love, betrayal, and faith.

I am not seeking reviews for this story, however, should you like to review it ARCs will be ready on July 31, 2016. I would be happy to send you one at that time in the format of your choice. Should you care to review the previous stories in this series I can send them to you upon receiving your request. You may discover more about the Sister Christian series (as well as several other books of mine) by visiting either my Amazon page http://www.amazon.com/author/lisadarling or by visiting my website http://www.lisabethdarling.com. My books are also available on Nook, Smashwords, Kobo, and iBooks.

Please let me know if you would have space for me to appear on your site any time between August 1, 2016 and September 14, 2016.

Thank you very much for your time and attention. I look forward to hearing from you.

Trust me, most bloggers don’t make it easy just to find the owner’s NAME. I put the name of the blog in the email in case any of them get in touch with me because they have no sig lines with their web address. If I didn’t put the blog/site name in the email I’d have no idea who was responding to my simple request.

I also got in touch with two Blog Tour Companies that I used in the past. One of which I really enjoyed being with them. The other offers the biggest shotgun approach I’ve ever seen and I had good luck with their giveaway (over 4,000 entries) but I don’t think I can trace any actual sales back to them. I haven’t heard back from them yet. Hopefully I will. I know for sure I’ll sign up with Goddess Fish again. They were just so damn nice and accommodating I can’t see going with any other Blog Tour Company again. It was the best experience I ever had in that respect. So if they say ‘yes’ I’ll plunk down my $69.00 and be on several dozen sites in one day. I looked into other places like Book Bub but I’m soooo NOT paying $500.00 just to advertise I have a book available for $0.99. There’s no ROI there, at least not for me because I don’t write for the mainstream public. Hell, just in looking at their book categories I couldn’t find one that “Prodigal Son” actually fits into. So….no.

In fact, if I actually had to write for the mainstream public I’d probably just throw in a puke covered towel and say; “I’m done. Here’s my stuff, take it for free if you want it.”

I even spent a few hours looking into “Christian” book blogs.

Gods help me, I did.

But most of them don’t want me either. Not enough “God” in this series. Go figure.

Then I have to deal with List/Group Moms who think they know everything about everything because 1-they have NO LIFE and 2-they had 1 kinda-sorta-maybe “best selling” book. I hate overly controlling people. I do. I left a few lists and groups today. I don’t need a ‘teacher’. I don’t need some hack who once wrote a decent story but can’t come up with another one who wants to stifle everyone else and their Freedom of Speech just because they don’t agree with her.

NEWSFLASH—the majority of Internet Based “publishing companies” DO NOT OFFER AN ADVANCE. If you go with one, yes, you are still “traditionally published”. But one list/group mom couldn’t understand that fact. Unless you sign with one of the Big Six (and their multitude of subsidiaries) you’re screwed…you’re not getting an advance. Ask me, I actually know. I’ve been accepted multiple times by such companies and offered the crappiest 5-year contracts you can imagine. I turned every single one down. Five of them went out of business within a year of my refusal. One….one…is still in business and seems to be doing well. I’m almost sorry I turned them down but they were way too eager. They wanted ALL of the books in the OF WAR Series without even reading them. Again…no advance. And they openly admitted to me that they couldn’t take me any further than I’d already gone but they still wanted 60%.

Yep. Born at night but not LAST night.

If that means I remain an Unknown until the day I die that’s fine with me.

The good news is I received word from one of my beta readers and she loved the story. She cried in all the right places. So I guess it doesn’t totally suck after all. Ya know, every time I finish a story I look at it and go; This fucking SUH-CKS! Why do I do this? I’m a hack!

Maybe I’m not.

I’ll keep grinding away and hoping something comes of it. What else can I do?

Buy a lottery ticket

Fuck you.

I need my dollar way more than the State does.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 13/07/2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Me What You Think

