One Lowly Woman’s Opinion on Socialized Medicine


counter for wordpress

OK….BAD NEWS…my husband is in the hospital AGAIN for a blood clot in his leg. Yes, again. Now he’s never been tested for Factor Five Leiden but our youngest daughter tested positive for ‘half’ the gene associated with this disorder. Guess we know where it comes from now.

He just came home! After months of working in MA to make a living because doing so in the “Great” State of Connecticut is nearly impossible. He just got a ‘good paying’ job close to home that he was supposed to start on Monday. Now…that’s all gone to shit.

According to him, on Wednesday his leg started feeling ‘tight’. He didn’t take care of himself up there. We had been keeping his risk down with daily doses of low dose aspirin and red wine because the Xeralto prescribed to him was $400.00/month! Yeah, and people are bitching about the price of Epi-Pens. Needed meds to be sure but needed for allergies that easily avoidable unless its a bee sting. Seriously, try being a Type 1 diabetic (as my darling Miss Nicole is) and getting all of the needed meds even with “Obamacare”…it’s a fucking JOKE! She paid $300.00/month for “Obamacare” and it DID NOT cover her insulin! She had to BUY insulin from CRAIGSLIST! WTF??????

(Deep breath….in…out…in…out.)

Anyway, he stopped taking the Xeralto when we lost our insurance because we just couldn’t afford it. We still can’t….not with a $5,000.00 deductible and no prescription medicine coverage until that deductible is met. That’s fucking crazy! (I’d say ‘pardon my language’ but if you’re that snowflaky you shouldn’t be here.)

So now he’s back in the ER at Lawrence and Memorial Hospital (a place that, in my humble opinion is notorious for killing my relatives) and the ‘doctor’ tells him he has a blood clot that runs from his ankle to his groin. Really? Ok. Dear Doc….why isn’t the leg blue? Why isn’t it purple? Why is it nothing more than swollen? Why is he still able to hobble on it? I mean, ya know, if the blood supply has been cut off that drastically it should at least be discolored to a visible extent.

The “good news” is, they might actually perform some type of surgery to get rid of the clot this time. You know, instead of waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting to see if some Big Pharma med clears it up. We went through this with his shoulder last year. Six months of physical therapy and meds before someone finally made the ‘bright’ decision of; OMG! You need surgery!

Assholes.

Honestly, the American Public is nothing more than a Cash Cow to the Modern Medical Establishment that will do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to avoid actually providing a cure. After all, it’s much more profitable to keep someone ‘sick’ and just placate the symptoms than it is to actually CURE them. All those ‘doctors’ really need a second, third, maybe even fourth house or a yacht or a plane or some other fancy doo-dad that we should foot the bill for. That’s much more important that curing someone as swiftly as possible. Welcome to Capitalism Run Amok. Ain’t it grand?

So he’s there and I’m here not because I don’t love my husband but because I’m so likely to kill one of those assholes where they stand. No remorse. No regret. To me it’s just another dipshit with a God Complex down. So I’m being good by being here. Instead of being there where I could provide emotional support to my poor husband.

***Side Story***

I don’t trust those people because they have outright KILLED 4 of my relatives in my lifetime. They have! It’s true. Trust me, if us Darlings were sue happy people we’d own that shitty hospital by now and ALL healthcare would be FREE to every New London resident. Let’s see; they killed my mother by refusing to give her the test results for FOUR MONTHS that would have shown she had lung cancer that was operable at that time but…no. No test results until after it was inoperable forcing her undergo chemo and radiation that had no chance of saving her. She died a very slow and horrible death I wouldn’t wish on anyone. They killed my father by misdiagnosing the blood clot in his leg when he slipped from a ladder and got the nastiest bruise/cut you’ve ever seen and it refused to heal. The clot traveled to his brain and he died, literally, on the toilet, in my upstairs bathroom. My aunt had ovarian cancer in her 70s, she went through chemo and radiation and came out ‘cancer free’ only to die from AIDS from a blood transfusion back in the early 80s, again, totally missed by Lawrence and Memorial Hospital. My grandfather died when L&M misdiagnosed his hardening of the arteries and told him it ‘was nothing to worry about’. The only blessing there is that he just keeled over picking apples at Holmberg Apple Orchard, something he loved doing. Sometimes I think my grandmother who also died of hardening of the arteries at the old Norwich State Hospital was the lucky one. At least she was properly diagnosed after trying to kill to my grandfather with a butcher knife in his sleep.

***End Side Story***

Yes, I hate Lawrence & Memorial Hospital. I think that probably nearly every single one of those ‘doctors’ graduated from a medical school in Grenada. (Are you old enough to remember Grenada?)

I don’t trust them. I will never trust them. I don’t think those ‘doctors’ are capable are putting a dog down in a humane manner they’d screw that up too. Something akin to “The Horrible Death of Eduard Delacroix” (Stephen King fan…anyone? No? Read “The Green Mile” or watch the movie, whatever floats your boat.)

Look, the long and short of this post is: WE the AMERICAN PEOPLE DESERVE a single-payer health care system. We do! Every other ‘civilized’ nation on the planet has it. Why not us? Not only do you not have to ‘pay’ for medical care it ensures that the most direct route to a cure for whatever ails you is taken. No kickbacks. No bullshit. No wait-n-see what happens. No payments to Big Pharma for doing little more than producing TV ads enticing you to buy their product. (Yes, that’s exactly why the Epi-Pen price went through the roof…all of those PRIME TV ADS! For a product that already had no rival!) No one has to pay the outrageous fee of $2000.00/month for COBRA insurance that covers jackshit anyway. No payment for Obamacare which also covers ‘jack’ ie kinda sorta normal ‘wear and tear’ but doesn’t cover ‘shit’ for those who actually NEED it to LIVE. Like insulin.

The thing that bugs me the most about the opposition to such a system is that most of those folks claim to be ‘Christian’. Really? Seriously? Ok. Whatever. But as far as I’m concerned The Big JC was one long haired hippie ‘freak’ who cared about everyone, wanted the best for everyone, no matter who they were. He cared about people. He cared about quality of life for everyone. If you believed in his Father…great. If you didn’t…he still wanted to see you prosper.

There are some people out there who bitch, whine, moan, and complain that they don’t want their ‘tax dollars’ going to fund your…..what-the-hell-ever. (Mostly birth control and/or abortions) How about if I don’t want MY tax dollars going to fund your heart surgery? Your blood clot surgery? Your Alzhemier’s care? Your diabetes medication? After all, that’s way worse, you’re genetically defective. Why should I fund your defective genes procreating and being handed down to further generations that I’ll have to ‘pay’ for?

Oh yeah. You’re human. So am I. That’s right. Compassion and dignity.

In the end, as much as a lot of people hate to admit, studies have shown time and time and time again, that those people in those other ‘civilized’ countries don’t mind paying those higher taxes. Why? They’re GETTING something out of it. Unlike our taxes which simply subsidize big business and allow corporations to put money into offshore accounts. Our taxes that allow CEOs making millions upon millions of dollars a year to keep up their lifestyle.

Corporate Welfare.

That’s way better than taking care of each other. Right?

From one Garden Variety Pagan to you….we should all be like the Big JC. He had a lot of fine points. One of which was completely against Corporate Welfare and the Big Guy continually beating the shit out of the Little Guy and getting away with it unscathed.

If you’re offended by my use of ‘The Big JC’…fuck you. I was Catholic…and Baptist…for 18 years. I get to say it even if you don’t like it and I mean no disrespect by it.

The Big JC would have done anything and everything in his power to ensure that PEOPLE got the best of everything in this life including healthcare.

He didn’t die for your ‘sins’…no one, not even him, can ‘pay the price’ for what YOU do. He died hoping all of us would ‘see the light’. That light being that we’re all people, we’re all equal, we all deserve the best this life has to offer because, no matter our race, color, creed, or orientation, we’re all part of the same tribe.

Humanity.

We need to look out for each other. We need to take care of each other. It’s our duty here on Planet Earth.

What a concept.

Mind blowing.

To an ant.

About lbdarling

Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Posted on 23/09/2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can commiserate with you. I also had a blood clot in my leg after having my gallbladder removed. I had no symptoms, no discoloration of the leg. All I had were severe cramps in the backs of my calves. They tried putting me on coumadin but I ended up with hematomas from my hip down to my ankle. So I’m on baby aspirin unless I get another clot (I also have the factor). I’m sorry that you both are having to go through that. I’ll keep you both in my prayers (which it could be more).

    • Thank you! They put him back on the Xeralto….$600.00/month! That’s insane. He’ll probably be on it for the rest of his life. With no prescription drug coverage, no HSA, AND a $5,000.00 deductible it’s just nuts. We pay about $10,000.00/year out of pocket for insurance to begin with then you add in the deductible and it’s a whopping $15,000.00/year before anything gets covered. This Obamacare is not what we need. The only people making out here are the insurance companies. We need true socialized medicine.

  2. Romance Reader Enthusiast

    I know. And the bad part is that if other countries can do it, why can’t our own government figure it out. But then again our insurance companies are probably part of the lobbyist groups that pass a few bucks a certain way. My insurance company made some changes and didn’t let us know and my deductible has also gone way up.

Tell Me What You Think

