Posted in Uncategorized

The Joys and Pitfalls of Trying to Be a Generous Indie Author

counter for wordpress

Yesterday was my birthday…you knew that already. I know. Duh.

As always, on my birthday, I offer FREE e-books to anyone who wants one. I LOVE doing that and I have NO intentions of stopping that tradition. I’ve done it for years.

I made the offer on Facebook and Facebook pretty much ‘blocked’ my offer because I included a link to my website. Thanks, you knuckleheads! So I made it AGAIN. Guess what….no one responded. I made the offer on Twitter and….no one responded.

I made the offer to my dwindling mailing list and….LOTS of people responded! Gods bless ’em. I spent lots of time sending free e-books to people who actually give a flying f’ about my stories. YEAH! 90% of those responding said something like ‘happy birthday!’ and ‘please’ and ‘thank you’. WOOT! Good manners are important, people, don’t ever think they aren’t. The other 10% responded ONLY with the title of the book and the format they wanted.


Miss Manners would be so disappointed in those people.

1% wanted to have their books in an editable format….you know, .txt, .doc. .docx, .rtf

Yeah…sorry Charlie. Not happening. I’m already taking a big risk every time I send a FREE ebook to someone and I end up praying that FREE ebook doesn’t end up on some pirate site, which it almost always does. I’m sure as shootin’ shit not sending them out in a format that can not only be easily disseminated but exceedingly easily edited…stolen…plagiarized…altered….you get the idea, right?

Another 1% send me nasty emails wanting to know why the only ‘free stories’ offered ON MY SITE were…well…what they are; “Fifty Shades of War” and a bunch of old SG-1 fanfic. They didn’t understand why they couldn’t immediately download ANY story of mine FREE.


Like getting my AARP card in the mail today wasn’t bad enough! LOL

Because I don’t rely on book sales to pay my bills because I have a good paying job, I don’t mind sending Constant Readers FREE ebooks at my discretion. BUT….


Thank you

Happy Birthday

Go a long way toward showing the intend of the recipient.

Know what I mean, Vern?

So, whenever someone offers you something FREE and you WANT it….say ‘thank you’. Say ‘please may I have’ and if it happens to be that person’s birthday say ‘happy birthday’.

Really it’s just good manners. Nothing more than that.

That’s the end of my little rant.


Beware...the truth is spoken here. If you can't handle that...buh-bye.

Tell Me What You Think

